Day 10


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam
August 23rd 2009
Published: July 3rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 14.0583, 108.277

Day 10: Hoi An. What a marvelous day. I took a cooking class with a Vietnamese chef. First, we went to the market--not only to shop for ingredients but to experience the local culture. We stopped on the street for a glass of an iced drink that contained coconut milk, some sort of beans, and several other ingredients that unfortunately, I didn't write down. It was different. You drink but also must use a spoon for the solid ingredients. It's sweet. We stopped at various stalls where the chef explained some items that were unfamiliar to us. We watched meat being chopped up. They use everything! Also, what was interesting was that only women sell in the market. They also do all the butchering.

Shrimp, crabs, various fish were laid out on the ground for purchase, vegetables, fruit, sugar. Actually, sugar is sold ground in plastic bags but you can also buy it in a solid lump. We were told that most Vietnamese buy it in the solid form because it's cheaper. People on motor bikes cruise through these incredibly narrow aisles making navigation quite difficult.

After the market, we boarded a small boat to cross the river to the Lighthouse Restaurant which the chef and her Netherlands husband own. We were taken to the second floor kitchen which was open air, set up with four separate burners, chopping boards, knives, and aprons for each of us. First, we were treated to a refreshing glass of juice. We learned how to make a rose from a tomato. Then, each of us was given tasks of chopping, peeling, rolling, measuring, sautéing, etc. There were eight of us and we all participated in the entire process. We made Fried Shrimp Spring Rolls, Tuna in a Clay Pot, Stuffed Squid, and Water Spinach with Garlic. Once we finished preparing the meal, we carried our dishes into the restaurant and ate it. The meal was wonderful but the sauces we had prepared for the various dishes were delicious.

After finishing the meal, we rode back in the boat. I had a fitting scheduled so I took off to try on my new dresses. I was very pleased to find that they had adjusted the bust to my liking. One of the dresses was too loose around the hips so they made some adjustments and told me to come back in an hour. I went back to the hotel and another girl and I decided to rent bicycles to ride around town and to the beach. What an experience! Motor bikes, as I've already mentioned, pay little or no attention to traffic signals, they beep their horns indiscriminately and, generally hog the road. To make matters worse, there are cars, taxis, buses, and trucks that also try to get through. We rode for about two hours and I decided that I'd had enough of bike riding. Walking is difficult enough.

I went back and picked up my dresses, then wandered around town a bit more. I was still full from the late lunch but I had to stop in this one café where I had noticed lovely pastries on display. I sat at a small table on the street, munched on a freshly baked chocolate croissant, sipped my iced white Vietnamese coffee, and fended off the children selling their wares. One little girl in particular, got quite angry with me. I didn't want to buy any of her trinkets (despite the fact that she told me it was “happy hour” and if I bought two, I would get one for free). She wanted 50,000 dong (approximately $3.00). The trinkets were worth MAYBE a quarter. So, I gave her a 5,000 dong note and said it was for her but I didn't want anything. She left and a few minutes came back and argued with me. I was “hit on” by so many kids in the short time I sat at that café that I wondered if there was an adult nearby coaching the kids on what to say. Whatever…I finished my coffee and croissant and left.

I am off for Hue tomorrow morning and I decided that I'd make it an early night. Hoi An has been a wonderful experience.

Advertisement



23rd August 2009

North or South So are you headed north or south? I see Hue on the map but not Hoi An. Are you on a high speed train? Are there bugs all over every think at the markets?

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0297s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb