Kicking Back in Sapa


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam
August 12th 2006
Published: August 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Goodbye China


Getting into Vietnam from China was smooth sailing 99%!o(MISSING)f the way. I stayed at the boarder town Hekou and all I needed to do was walk 200m into a new country.

"What can possibly go wrong??"

Well in my experience, pretty much anything.

This morning I was detained at the chinese checkpoint by Chinese Army officials!!

At the Chinese checkpoint my bags were screened as per normal security measures. But then the Chinese army who was looking at the screen told me to go into the room.

I quickly did as I was told and did a brain check...Do I have drugs?? (No). Did someone put drugs in mybag?? (Hope not) Am i carrying a knife?? (No). Hmmmmm I wondered.

Then after a few minutes the chinese army guy comes into the room and demanded accusingly, not drugs, but "BOOKS!! BOOKS!!" I quickly unpacked and showed him all my books. My calender diary, my journal, Vietnam lonely planet, China Lonely planet, a small Bible, a vietnam
magazine.....

He grabbed the China Lonely Planet, half torn from 5 months of travel, examined it closely.

I yawned, was getting bored and drank my iced tea in the boiling heat. I thought what a strange place China is, and just 200m away I will be outa here. What a place, what great memories....

A senior official comes into the room. He speaks politely and in good english, says, "Firstly, Why is your China book torn in half? Why is half the book missing??"

I said "Because it is heavy. I rip out the pages that I have been to and keep the ones I want for later...."

Then he continues politely but with great passion and authority, "Secondly, This book is a PROBLEM!! This book is ILLEGAL in China!!!!!"

I scratch my head, "Ummm its a lonely planet... why would it be illegal?"

With great passion he exclaims "Because it is INCORRECT! For instance, look at this map! This map does not show Taiwan is part of China!!!!!! See? The color coding on the map....China and Taiwan are differrent colors but Taiwan belongs to China!!!!!!!!"

I try not to laugh...boy oh boy i can't believe this, Im not giving this book up. I say, "I'm very sorry. Maybe I will write a letter to Lonely Planet about their error. Can I have my book back now please??"

"NO! It is illegal, I'm sorry."

"But I want the book! I'm a student! I'm leaving China! It is very very expensive!! About 1000 Kwai!! "

"Yes, but even when you leave china you cant take this book..."

"But I'm only 200m away from the boarder, please it's my book!!please!!! "

"Sorry...."

"yeah whatever"

So I pack my stuff thinking to myself this is completely bizarre. I couldnt believe it!!!

I said goodbye to China and crossed the bridge into Vietnam, where I hope to find logic and reason....

Right now Im in a hill tribe town in the mountains called SAPA. It is
about 1hr by local bus from Lao Cai, the first Vietnamese boarder time. First day here and its easy to unwind.

It is wonderful here, lots of french looking buildings, trees and hill tribe people! Most hill tribe girls speak near perfect english. I spoke to many who were in their 18s and 20s. Nearly all of them have already had 3 babies and were married when they were 16yrs old. Its a different world
Mong KiddiesMong KiddiesMong Kiddies

Ze and Yarn
in these mountains.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Mong KiddiesMong Kiddies
Mong Kiddies

Ze and Yarn
Mong KiddiesMong Kiddies
Mong Kiddies

Ze and Yarn


Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0278s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb