Vietnam


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam
December 31st 2010
Published: December 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Vietnam is a phenomenal country. The landscapes and cities vary drastically. Starting in Ho Chi Minh City was a good look at an overcrowded city that was a bit overwhelming. Heading directly to the Mekong Delta was isolated, peaceful and the complete opposite of Old Saigon. As the rain was super intense in some parts of Vietnam, we completely skipped over our beach/boating part of our trip in the middle of the country. I didn’t even flinch that I would be missing the part of the trip I was most looking forward to – the Cham islands. This was Mother Nature talking here… nothing anyone can do!

I was definitely moved by Hoi An. This was a tiny town with lots of personality. I didn’t expect a moment of solidarity at any point in this town, but it happened while I was by myself walking across a bridge overlooking muddy waters. I felt at peace for the first time in a while; however within 2 days, the rain started making me a tad unfriendly and awkward. I never realized that so much dampness and no sunshine can actually make me truly depressed. The depression lasted about an hour. Thanks to my lovely roommate she picked me up and made sure I was back to my outgoing loud self.

Next stop was Hue where I had more moments of peace and quietness. The rain hadn’t stopped, so I took some alone time to sleep. I wasn’t even upset that I missed some planned activities. Normally I want to make the most of every minute, every opportunity I have… but sometimes it best to take time to breathe and relax (especially when it’s raining outside). I sometimes have to remind myself that this is acceptable – for heaven’s sake, I have been traveling and homeless since April!

Off to Halong Bay, this was such a beautiful experience. I didn't realize how many tourists would actually be in this area as many other places we went seemed as if we were the only Westerners there. Our boat was lovely and the food was scrumptious. The caves we went into were spectacular.

This trip is exciting! This is an adventure and an experience I will never forget! I realize I shouldn’t take this for granted and sometimes I do have to remind myself where in the world I am standing as some days I forget that this is a trip of a lifetime. I am so moved by the people that I have met, the stories I have heard, the cultures, the beliefs, and most important the naïve people that exist in this world – WAKE UP!!! There is a whole world out there. I suggest anyone living in a bubble should start exploring – learn a new language, read about a new religion, learn about a new culture, learn to cook a new cuisine. Anything goes – just try something new and exciting and hopefully it can add a little new substance to your life, even if it’s only a small bit.

The last stop in Vietnam was Hanoi. For the 1st time since Marrakesh, I had a HUGE overwhelming and nervous feeling walking these streets. Perhaps it was out of sheer exhaustion, but crossing these large roads with motorbikes and cars coming at you in full speed gave me heart palpitations! This was a large city, but we managed to see a bit of it. There is a huge backpacker environment – lots of restaurants and bars to choose from. I was happy to stay an extra day after my tour, but happy to go when I did.

Things to know about Vietnam:

There is more honking then you would ever know what to do with – but here is the interpretation:

1 honk = Hello, I am here

2 honks = Excuse me stat

3 honks = Get the F out of my way you moron

The smells in certain areas of Vietnam are intense and unidentifiable. Brace yourself in certain markets as you may not be too sure what it is that you smell.

Be prepared to eat dog at some point. Even though they don’t tell you its dog, you will probably certainly digest while in Vietnam. DON’T try to play with the dogs. They aren’t ‘pets’. The dogs are more for guarding – the owners barely touch them or play with them. I almost got bit 2 times (which was more than enough). It was sad, as there were some super cute and interesting breeds of dogs and all I wanted to do was scratch their bellies and give them kisses.

Bargain, bargain and bargain some more. They will come after you if they want the sale and they can make money. If you see something you like, buy it! I made the mistake of not buying some beautiful gifts as I thought I would see more of these things (crocodile clutches to be exact– special, beautiful and phenomenal).

A really interesting thing to share – In Vietnamese culture after someone loses a parent, the eldest son is in charge of a cultural process. This happens 3 years after the death of a parent. The body is dug up. The bones are cleaned by the eldest son and brought to a new burial place. This was something I never even knew existed.

Women RULE. In Vietnam, 90% of all the shopkeepers are women. Some even do heavy lifting. They negotiate, annoy – do everything only men did in the Middle East! This is such a change in culture.

The most important question I asked a local guide in Vietnam was – how do the Vietnamese feel about Americans? The response was long, very long. He claims that because of their religion, they are forgiving souls. The past is in the past is what I heard over and over. I couldn’t help but think of every local person’s face when I told them I was American. It was always a long face… like oh. Ok. Paul followed up my question with even a better question. He asked the local guide, what your parents think about the Americans (as they were affected directly as well as their parents). He hesitated and tried to give the same answer. The truth is the war was still so recent. I think about every time I see a swastika I get chills and the Holocaust didn’t affect anyone I know directly – it just makes me think of what occurred and how horrific it was. I think the people of Vietnam get a reminder every time they meet an American (but most were affected directly by the war). Perhaps my father killed yours look. It is hard, but it didn’t take away from the overall experience in Vietnam. It was a wake up call for me to experience and try to understand more about a part of history. I am naïve in general when it comes to war. Like many other Americans, specifically fellow New Yorkers (in my circle), we don’t serve in the military. We don’t even know anyone in the military. It’s sad.

I loved Vietnam. I may need to come back to the coastal spots that we missed when the sun will be shining bright. I didn’t like a part of my tour group – but you aren’t always going to love everyone you meet. Some of the group reminded me how I hate gossiping! Most of my travels there isn’t any gossip which makes life nicer and clearer. Once I am back in NY, people feed gossip and in turn I feed it back – Urghhhh… I hope that world of gossip doesn’t take me back under to that miserable place that makes me feel insecure. Truth is if I am talking about someone, chances are they are talking about me too!

I will not have much internet in Laos or Cambodia… so happy trails to me over the next few weeks (Of course I will tell yal about Thailand before I take off in a few days). I may have a novel for folks to read by the time I am done in late November so get the reading glasses ready.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.073s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb