Not to be outdone...


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam
December 4th 2010
Published: December 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Never let it be said that I am not one to take on a challenge. Our guide asked us if anyone wanted to try entering the Cu Chi tunnel... Yup, you guessed it. But, before I share that experience I'll provide you with a visual of the size of the guide.


Ok, now it was my turn. I lowered myself into the hole - wondering if I could possibly - even remotely get my hips into the entrance. Then once into the hole, I realized I was standing on tiptoes without a good perch to help push myself back out the way I came in...as I started to push myself up, I also realized I was pulling my pants down...this scene was too funny to believe. I thought I was going to be stuck in a tunnel entrance forever.


The only option was to go completely into the tunnel and crawl through it on my hands and knees (the tunnel is very narrow and short - even on hands and knees, I worried about my shoulders and hips fitting). Oh, and it is totally dark in this tunnel! And it is very hot and humid underground...

Lucky for me the guide went down another entrance with a flashlight and came to meet me where I was stuck


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Getting out was proving to be difficultGetting out was proving to be difficult
Getting out was proving to be difficult

As I tried to get up, I realized my pants were going down.
I'm stuckI'm stuck
I'm stuck

and I'm laughing.
Now I'm worriedNow I'm worried
Now I'm worried

Will my children become motherless?
The only way out is to go all the way inThe only way out is to go all the way in
The only way out is to go all the way in

Did I tell you, I don't like enclosed spaces?


8th December 2010

You didn't!!
Marlese, I can't believe you went down into that TINY hole!! But then again I guess I can believe it. Glad you haven't lost your sense of adventure :-) Keep us posted on your ongoing adventures (and crazy pranks), Dori
8th December 2010

Tunnel
OMG! I was scared from this end.
8th December 2010

THAT'S MY GIRL!
Your blog is great. The photos and captions work really well. Thanks for the travelogue. I can remember all that you are experiencing. XOXO
9th December 2010

"Marlese, the Brave"
I would never have gone into that entrance or into the tunnel. Has Mel took any risks yet? How is the food there? You are both very adventurous. (To me, since I am the opposite.)
11th December 2010

Tunnel Trip
We admire your courage in going down that tunnel. Glad you are having such a good trip.
16th December 2010

Thank goodness!!!
Thank goodness you made it through that hole safely! Looks as though the two of you are having an absolutely stupendous time, wish we were with you. Lots of love, Sheila and Debbie

Tot: 0.282s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0656s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb