Things to be careful of while in Hanoi


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam
March 19th 2008
Published: March 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: 5 secs
A few hours back I wrote that Vietnamese are a friendly people. I still believe they are. I also said that although the Vietnamese appear to be friendly, one must not take for granted the safety of his/her person and property.

It seems though that I was not reading what I have written. I got ripped-off by half-a million dong (thats VND500,000.00) by one enterprising Vietnamese Lady. I went by myself around Hanoi just to have a feel of the City. When I arrived near a monument (near a man-made lake) a Vietnamese lady offered to take a photograph of me balancing her baskets on my shoulder. Another one put on a typical Vietnamese hat on me. After taking my picture, they demanded that I pay them VN50,000.00. That's too much for a photograph of course, but fearing for my dear life I reached for my wallet to pay the enterprising dou. While trying to read the currency (somehow the Dong looks the same) the lady took a bill from my hand and inserted it in her wallet before I could really check it (In the first place I should have declined from paying them and I should have not reached for my wallet. But then, sometimes, I am just an idiot).

As I walk, I was kind of dumbfounded....thinking what had just happened. While in this mood, another lady offered to take my photograph for a VN100,000.00! What an expensive labor force Vietnam has! Though still a bit shaken, I have summoned enough stregnth to say no... and she smiled and off she goes.

While walking, I overheard a Caucasian man trying to reason to an old lady. He said "The only reason why I want to buy this Cap is that you're such a nice lady." I have no doubt in my mind that he was smarter than I am but I am not all too certain if the "nice lady" he'd run into can give up that easily.

If you are planning to go to Vietnam, please do have in mind the following:

* Book your hotel online. If you can't or if you did'nt just tell the driver to take you to St. Joseph's Cathedral. Get off from there and look for the hotel yourself. The hotels are often full of course but, it is better to look for a hotel that is suitable to your taste;
* Don't try to offer to carry the basket of any vendor. If you do, you'll end-up being forced to pay or buy the goods you do not actually need. Worst you can end-up being fooled like me.
* Do not put al of your money in the same wallet. There had been reports of pickpockets in Hanoi. I bet you do not want to lose all you money.
* Everything has a price. Don't think that everyone is as nice as you are. Some people do you something and they expect to be paid. If someone offers to take you somewhere, just decline politely.


My advice is of course far from being complete. Other travellers did have a pleasant stay in Hanoi I know. I do hope that their experience and my experience gives the reader of this blog a fair idea about what to do in Hanoi.



Additional photos below
Photos: 45, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Bad Luck DayBad Luck Day
Bad Luck Day

This is my Half-a-million VNDong photograph!


Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0563s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb