Train Ride, Hanoi and Danang and Nha Trang!!!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam
April 13th 2007
Published: April 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

"Bike or Bust, 50 km of China beach"



Hue to Danang Trainride, Hoi An and further South to Nha Trang

I departed Hue at 9 am on the day train. It was an overcast day and a bit of rain filtered through the grey clouds. Unimpressed with the current weather situation, I buried my head in my book for the next hour. The weather, which had been overcast since I got to Vietnam, would remain the same until the train exited one of the many mountain tunnels on route to Hoi An.

A few minutes after exiting another tunnel, I looked up from a dull section of my book with a pre-determined and pessimistic outlook at the landscapes before me. To my surprise however, the sun was out bullying around diminutive clouds and the train I was on was almost 400 meters in the air teetering along a section of mountain range. In a state of shock, and worried the next tunnel would bring back the grey nothingness, I clumsily rose up knocking over my disgusting train food. People looked at me a little odd, but I didn’t really care, as I would spend the next 2 hours with my head out of a box window taking tourist shots and watching the beaches roll by. I was on my way to Danang and Hoi An in hopes of finding maybe one more taste of salty surf along China beach.

Unfortunately for my sake the surf was breaking over a shallow section of Beach in Danang. Even if you were able to track down a board here you would most likely get one ride in and then find yourself eating sand. I can honestly say China beach is one breathtaking sight I will not forget. I rented a motorbike, and crused the 50 km of coastal highway from Danang to Hoi an and then back. Check out the pics as always, and I think a few of these are my favorite yet. And lets just say the locals were loving my shirt and Rayban Aviators.

I am now in Nha Trang, I spent the day snorkeling, and tonight I will be heading to Saigon (Ho Chi Manh City).

See you all very soon

Cor



Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

My personal favoriteMy personal favorite
My personal favorite

5 km of beach strip all to myself.
Marble mountainMarble mountain
Marble mountain

should you be so vain, you can get a statue of yourself, lifesized ofcourse and sent back to Canada for around 1000usd


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb