Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
October 26th 2006
Published: October 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post


Hi Everybody!
We are so happy to be in Vietnam. We arrived early last evening and saw rain for the first time since our trip started. It didn't last long but made everything steamy. It is in the 90's during the day and feels just like Alabama in the summer. The people here are wonderful. They are so friendly and helpful and always have a smile on their faces. One thing that I like about being here is that they love the U.S. dollar. They had rather have that than their Vietnamese dong. It sure makes life easier for me with the exchange rate 16,000 dong to 1 U.S. dollar. Speaking of money, everything is very inexpensive! I went to the market today and probably overpaid for merchandise that I thought was really cheap. On my way back to the hotel, people offered me t-shirts for $2, fake Polo caps for $1, etc.
We are staying at an old hotel, the Rex. It is where many of the correspondents stayed during the Viet Nam War. They have lots of music - I am listening to a piano bar singer as I write this. They have a rooftop bar with a band which we listened to last night. The view of the city is great from there. Walt has really enjoyed speaking Vietnamese with the people. There are many foreigners here from the U.S., Europe, and Australia. I think this is a favorite destination for veterans. We hired a driver to take us around today. We rode to Bien Hoa where Walt was stationed during the war. He took us to several attractions - one being Chinatown. I didn't do too well there because they didn't speak any English. It is easy to get around because we are in the center of town. Ho Chi Minh City has tourist police which help you cross the street or find your destination. They even walk along with you to be sure that you follow their directions. You feel very safe here during the day or evening. There are tons of scooters here but only two people are allowed to ride together.
I will have to wait to put more pictures on the gallery. I should be able to add them when I go back to Hong Kong.
We have finished 16 flights and have 12 to go. Cathay Pacific feels like our home away from home. The crew is beginning to recognize us. We still think the service is superb. We can't believe that our trip is almost half over.
Take care,
Everette


Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0277s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb