Saigon/ Ho Chi Minh City


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
October 27th 2006
Published: October 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everybody!
One thing that gets your attention in Vietnam is the traffic. There are probably 10 scooters for every car, bus, and bicycle. They all constantly blow their horns instead of hitting the brakes. At first, I was a little scared to cross the streets. Occasionally, a native girl would grab my arm and pull me across with her. We would walk in between the scooters. I got to where I could do it on my own. The city also has a force of tourist officers that are very helpful. This is the first city that Walt has allowed me to go out and shop in on my own. I got turned around a few times when I left a market by a different entrance. The tourist guys showed me the way back to my hotel. There are thousands of tiny shops, many specializing in luggage, t-shirts, linens, wood crafts, etc. The Vietnamese people are very enterprising. They also are a friendly group of people who always wave and speak to you. They make you feel very welcome in their country. All of them are skinny! Their clothes did not fit a well proportioned Southern girl like me.
Our driver told us that schools are not free in Vietnam. He said many poor people try to pay for four hours of schooling for their children. People with more means pay for 8 - 12 hours. One evening around 10:30, we saw older students on their way home from school.
Most everyone speaks some English. Many menus have 3 sections: European, Chinese, and Vietnamese. On their buffets, they have the same 3 selections. It is nice to try different things and still have some comfort foods from home.
Our next destination is Singapore!
Take care,
Everette

Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0261s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb