Unintentional generosity, sights and welded to the toilet bowl


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
April 16th 2013
Published: April 16th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Have been feeling on the edge of ill for days. Stay in bed a while today i think. Dreamt two full songs this morning. Haven't dreamt up songs for a long time. Not that I can write the notes or really remember the lyrics... got to be a way to recall dreams clearer.

Got up and active eventually. Hired a motorbike taxi n realised that the agreed upon price of "two" which I thought was "20" and I did check may of actually meant 200k- about 10 times the fair amount for the trip. He ended up winding through the streets every which way and giving me a Vietnamese language lesson which became annoying cos I just wanted to get to the market and he was trying to make his ripoff price I seemingly agreed to more palatable all round I suspect. Anyways, I gave him 50k... and told him to keep the change in an effort to establish my original understanding. There was no argument, in fact, he wanted to meet me afterwards to give me a lift home. Any time I wanted. After he'd left, I checked n realised I had given him 500k accidentally- enough for an all day city tour with admission and tip included. Ahhh well... made him happy for a while I spose.

Markets were ok. Not as persistent as I was led to believe but then again my practiced continual movement and Kung-fu grab brushing away probably spared me. Bought 2 polos from a slappy vendor for more than I think was good but still, if they last in decent condition this trip, they were worth it.


Met up with Sals cousin. He lives here and showed us a cool restaurant as well as a skyscraper bar view that was incredible. Also, notably (hence the note) a bar with maybe a dozen western males and 20 gorgeous female bar staff. It was certainly a sight. Finished the night with another couple of beers and meeting his vietnamese girlfriend. Destroyed their hotel toilet bowl what became a continual theme over the following 24hrs. Showed nick the power of the flame to remove the gaseous stenching. He was impressed and relieved.


Stuck in a room today. Less than an hr between butt spray. Should buy a ship foghorn. It is like a brown whale spout and the horns adequate warning would be fitting. Bought some butt plugging pills post 24hr mark and they working. And otherwise ok.

Advertisement



1st May 2013

gdp
I hear the gdp of the whole country has gone up in just a few days and it's all down to one single tourist. Any truth in that?
2nd May 2013

Merhaps it is so. I do not know of which tourist you speak of but as for myself, I am simply conforming to communistic ideals of keeping the wealth spread somewhat.

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb