Born to be moderately wild, within a sensible limit


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
April 16th 2013
Published: April 16th 2013
Edit Blog Post

no photo of this riding experienceno photo of this riding experienceno photo of this riding experience

but my memory is prefect
Went walkabout mid morning after getting back late enough. Bought some minor stuff-had a beer with locals and watched people for a while at an intersection. One guy showed up with a big bag of ice, another with half case of beer. A kid was riding behind on a motorbike and holding a kite out like he was flying it as it flittered along. A guy who was little more than a head on a walking, tightly stretched bone bag was noticeable. Vietnamese are rarely much more than slim or solid but there was much less to him than most.


Sat by myself eating noodles on a corner with no-one standing around- is almost an impossibility in HCMC. 2 mins later I had two people watching and smiling. One took my rubbish and put it on the curb where I saw other bags- just another of the silent services around here. HCMC appears very clean really.


Two older gentlemen beckoned me over and poured me a 40 (?) ml spiced whiskey of sorts. I shotted it. It was delicious. And then they put a quarter glass again. Oops- it's to sip. They asked name and where from but there was nothing else much but gestures n sitting. A lotto ticket lady came past pushing tickets onto me and my acquaintances were shooing her away but I got two tickets. Gave them both one each as a thanks what seemed to make all around quite happy. I left on that good note (here till tues, try the pho).

It took me less time than I thought before I braved the newness of bike transport and Vietnamese traffic and got a lift. There is goddamn toddlers doing moto-x tricks whilst flipping me the bird off of a the gas tank and other passengers texting whilst carrying bundles of bundled bundles. I was originally prepared to walk yet another 4-5 kays but I was offered a ride by a guy what asked how I was doing as an American GI. I had to respond and soon enough asked for a lift. The helmet was stretched by my sizable skull to sit a little on and a little above my head. I latched on to his shoulders like a, like a, well, metaphors fail me at this time so truths suffice- like a kinda scared little beeatch. And we were away. At a terrifying, pulse-raising, speed daemon speed of 25-35km/hr or whatever it is. Seeing the flow whilst being in the flow was completely different to watching the flow whilst being basically anywhere in HCMC. I was in the blood stream. I found myself off balance and realised my fear of the unfamiliar was resulting in me trying to control the direction of the bike, not let him go the correct (ie, the actual riders) direction. And I weigh twice what he does and half what these bikes do so I'm sure I was being a big fat hassle.

And I relaxed.
I relaxed as hard as I could.
Every muscle squeezing and exerting to let it the hell go.
And it was better.
And I write this a day later and my second experience was still way cool, but totally calm.


Ho Chi Minh rich part is not very interesting from the little seen. Wider streets, frenchier buildings, silly prices and western shops. Met Nick n Sal and was dropped off at the wrong place- obviously the taxi drivers family members place in the rightish area we pointed. I waggled my finger at him and scolded him nicely for being an enterprising individual. Expensive, good service, but the one meal we tried was deli meat, and the water served was wrongness aquafied. We walked and found a great student bar/restaurant open hangout complete with premier league at a very resaonable time. Another unexpected bonus of Vietnam.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0205s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb