Vietnam!!!!!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
November 13th 2011
Published: November 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Vietnam! Words can't describe this amazing city! Every time I visit the Motherland, it changes so much at such a rapid pace - mixing the old with the modern.

I almost didn't even make it to Vietnam. When I was in Hong Kong, I was at the Outlet mall and didn't realize the amount of time that it would take me on the MTR (HK's Subway) and the Airport Express. My flight was scheduled to leave at 430pm and I got to the airport at 420pm. Luckily Amanda & I had checked our bags at the Cathay Pacific counter prior to heading to the Giant Buddha. Needless to say, when we got to the airport, we went through security check and as we approached Customs, the security guard came up to us and asked us if we are running late for a flight and we said "Yes" - immediately he brought us up to the front of the line and let us through. We were boarding at gate 29 (which of course had to be at the lower level, all the way to the end of the airport. While we were running they were making "Final Boarding" calls over the PA system for our flight. It was totally that scene from Home Alone, when the McCallisters woke up late and was running through the airport. (I love that Movie). As we approached the gate, the staff for Cathay Pacific was holding up signs for Final Boarding and saw us running to the gate. Security ran towards us, grabbed our passports and boarding pass and told us to hurry and get on the plane. I heard one of the counter staff on her walkie talkie saying "We Found Them!" lol! Oh fun times!!!

Once we arrived in VN, my uncle got us at the airport and took us straight to my cousin's condo. My uncle, who doesn't normally drive, and doesn't know my cousin's district very well, spent about an hour trying to find his place. We eventually found the KFC where my cousin and his wife was to meet us.

I'm having such a good time with my cousin and his wife and their friends.

Rather than bore you guys to death with everything that I've done from day to day, hour by hour....here's some pics for you all to enjoy.

I'll post another entry tomorrow as it's bed time now in VN. I know you guys are just gettin' up, so enjoy your day and I'll talk to you all soon.

Cheers!

P.S. I just got back from an hour long shampoo, facial and massage!! It cost me $2!! that's right TWO friggin' bucks! and for all you dirty minded guys/gals, the woman did not ask me if I wanted her to "pet my baby!" or "pom pom" as the sayin' goes here in this country. (so I've been told) lol....it was a legit massage! hahahaha! But if you all are wondering, for her to "pet my baby" it would cost $200,000 Dongs which is $10 bucks and to "pom pom" would be $500, 000 Dongs which is $25 bucks. Money well spent?




Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Vietnamese Iced Coffee Vietnamese Iced Coffee
Vietnamese Iced Coffee

This is how I start my day!
Dinner!Dinner!
Dinner!

Dominoes Pizza


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb