Saigon Moron


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
May 5th 2006
Published: May 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Saigon NightsSaigon NightsSaigon Nights

A picture of the street below the balcony of my sweet birthday hotel.
Ok I'm now skipping through countries like a crazy fool. I joined up with Steph and Gemma (the English girls) and a Canadian guy and Swedish girl and her travelmate Paul from Wales. So it's a big crazy group of all the people I hung out with in Cambodia. I came to Saigon with Paul today, we stayed in Phnom Penh for a couple days trying to decide if we were going to meet everyone in Vietnam. So I'm back in Vietnam to see the south half, which I didn't see my first time in the country. I'm really excited to be here because the group is lots of fun and there are lots of things I want to do. I wanted to stay longer in Cambodia but I don't think I would have had much fun...maybe I'm wrong. I just found myself worrying about where I was going to go next and thought, "Screw it man, I have an awesome group to travel with (travelling in groups is cheaper too, because you can split lots of costs like rooms, taxis and tours) and there are plenty of things to do in Vietnam." So I'm glad to be here, even though
Travelling TeamTravelling TeamTravelling Team

These are the guys and girls I'm hanging out with.
I feel like maybe Cambodia deserved to be explored more.
Saigon is nuts with traffic and noise but I'll only be here a couple days. Tomorrow we'll go see the Chu Chi tunnels which were used by the Vietnamese in the Vietnam war. AND IT'S MY BIRTHDAY TOMORROW! So I splurged and 4 of us are sharing a nice $20 room. It's the first place I stayed with air conditioning and a real shower with tub and satellite TV. You gotta spoil yourself every few months for a night, right? The air conditioning is so nice. You can have a shower and not be sweatting again before you even dry the water off.
I suppose it's time to have some birthday drinks...I'll be missing all the boys back home.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Birthday BumBirthday Bum
Birthday Bum

I can't believe I'm 24!
Chu Chi TunnelsChu Chi Tunnels
Chu Chi Tunnels

People lived underground here for about 20 years to avoid being killed leading up to and during the Vietnam War.
Photo of a photoPhoto of a photo
Photo of a photo

This was a gruesome picture in the war crimes museum in Saigon. The agent orange pictures were worse.
Built Ford tough?Built Ford tough?
Built Ford tough?

Maybe not that tough.


5th May 2006

Vietnam Again!
You're crazy - vietnam again! Did you have to buy another $100 visa? HAPPY BIRTHDAY SCOOT! WE ARE ALL THINKING OF YOU. Derek is the entertainment at Connections for a fashion show - we will celebrate your birthday as tho you were here. Please be careful on your birthday. I'm off to New York! Luv U Mom
5th May 2006

hey how r u?
HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YO HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU HAPPY BIRTHDAY DEAR SCOTTIE HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU. WE MISS YOU. JODI
6th May 2006

Happy Birthday!!!!
Hey Scott, Have a great Birthday, and yes you do deserve to spoil yourself cause we aren't there to spoil you so somebody has to do it....anyways hope your day is super fun and when you get back we can have a bunch of parties in your honour.. Love ya buddy, HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!! kiss kiss!!!!
7th May 2006

b day
Happy Birthday babe , have fun... and its all good to spoil yourself and treat yourself once in a while when you travel, trust me sometimes its the best thing ever. xox Toni
8th May 2006

Scotty it's your birthday
Happy birthday Scoots. You sound like you're doing well. Hope you are still livin it up and not missing Weyburn Saskatchewan.
8th May 2006

Happy Birthday!
Happy Birthday Scoot! I hope you are having a wicked time. Wow! this must be the greatest birthday ever. I am sure you'll remember this one for a long time. Auntie Lu just gave me the email address today so I am going to keep up with your wonderful adventure. Everyone here in Calgary says hi. Christopher too! We love and miss you lots. Jill
10th May 2006

hey buddy
dude, i went home last weekend and backlun fixed up my windshield for me, pointed me here. looks like you're doing well in the far east buddy. wish i could join ya. happy birthday bro. never got to go out and celebrate it with backlun and the rest but i was thinking about ya. cheers buddy. be safe. kris

Tot: 0.191s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.1093s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb