Duck Eggs and other strange things


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
September 17th 2009
Published: September 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today was a fear factor day. Those of you who have followed my previous blogs know there is always something that makes you say "oh my god, did she really do that". Just so you aren't disappointed, I have done it again. It started innocently enough. We were invited to a lovely dinner with Mr. Longs family here in Saigon. We were excited. There was a wee communication barrier as they speak no english and well, we don't get Vietnamese. Luckly we had 2 family friends join us who spoke a wee bit of english. Made it interesting and fun. Kristy was a bit nervous about what might be served, but I was brave and confident that whatever was served I was going to auntie up. That was before the duck egg incident. These are not just any old duck eggs....no no no. The ducks are already formed in them, yup yup yup. Then they boil them partially. We were sitting at the table where I watched everyone sucking the guts and eyeballs out of the lobster when the eggs arrived. They looked harmless so when one was placed on my plate it was all good. I waited unsure of what the gig was. Mrs. Hong chipped off the shell and the horror was revealed. It was a hardboiled baby duck....feet, beak and feathers. There were even veins inside the shell. They cracked the tops and sucked out the liquid then looked at me expectantly. Just so you all know, Kristy didn't even let them put an egg on her plate. Soooooo, yep, I cracked her open and just started shoving pieces in my mouth and swallowing. I did it....now I don't feel so good, but I won fear factor. I couldn't look at Kristy while I did it cause I knew I would lose it and burst into laughter or tears and she couldn't look at me cause she was gagging. After dinner we all hopped on the motorbikes, (they let Kristy drive one) and headed out to the coffee shop in the field. I think I shared that one with you last year. Totally amazing night. Tomorrow we are going shopping with our new Vietnamese friends should be great, I just hope they don't bring me one of those left over eggs.

If the end of our day sounds exciting, someone needs to ask Kristy how her 5 hour tattoo session went this morning. I was so worried about how long things were taking I had to go down to the shop to make sure she was ok.

Vietnam is by far our favourite place. We completely loved Cambodia, but it was the girls and the orphange that held our hearts there. Alex and Ann our hosts and drivers in Cambodia are such real people. They are truly there to help and live on next to nothing but are so fullfilled by the work they do. We are blessed to have them in our lives now, and I know we will stay close and in touch with them. The lessons learned in Cambodia will last a lifetime.

Here in Vietnam the city is beautiful and the people so kind and wonderful just as I remembered. I finally got Kristy to eat at one of the food stalls and she agreed it was the best soup she has ever had. Well that is until she found the hair, but why dwell on negative things. We will try again. Tomorrow we are heading to the Cu Chi tunnels in the morning, then meeting Mrs Hong and her son Ty Voe for some motorbike riding and shopping Vietnamese style. Monday we head to Manila. Everyday is amazing and filled with much laughter, a holiday just couldn't get any better.

Talk again soon friends.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



17th September 2009

TATOO??
Dad and I sure enjoyed our BLT today!! what did you get for a tatoo?? ... hope it's some place that won't sag with age!
17th September 2009

But...
...you didn't *say* what the duck eggs tasted like - bet they were deeeelish. *cough* It was 30.7C yesterday in the city - and today we're having rain for the first time in a month - I imagine there'll be snow on the ground when you get back. Thanks for keeping us updated on your blog - love your comments, and love your pics. The girls in the orphanages must be so thrilled to meet you Miss Chatterbox. (why does that not surprise me? errr, both parts of that statement.) Please give Kristy a hug for me - what a trooper! The *ahem* 'Karoake Hotel' was dreamy...you didn't sleep on the comforters, did you? *wide eyes*
17th September 2009

Duck Eggs
wait until you get to Philippines...duck eggs are everywhere. Called "balook" and they are a known aphrodisiac. I couldn't do it so I have to give you credit....I can eat a lot of nasty things but this one.....no way.

Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb