Let the games begin


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
July 1st 2009
Published: July 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

The people here love sport. Whether it is the people that get up before 5 to do aerobics in the park or the football crazy kids, it seems if you can find a enough space to swing a cat you can easily play with a ball (except for those playing that popular pastime, swing the cat).

Almost any park or beach you go to there will be multiple games of football going on. It is amusing to see how boys football is the same the world over. Everybody chases the ball, there are make-do goalposts and arguments as to whether the ball was in the back of the net or not. The football league of choice is the English Premiership, you will see the colours of the top teams worn by most children and it is not uncommon for people to stay up very late at night just to watch a match on television. Playing in tight difficult conditions and inspired by the stars they see on TV, the children here are becoming very skilled with a ball; mimicing the Brazilian flair with superb control. The Vietnamese national team could be one to watch out for in years to come, having already won the Asian Cup.

The company also has a football team, playing regular matches against other local companies. I am going to watch this week, but may get a run out for 20 minutes of so towards the end. Likening myself to Gary Lineker (well he went to play in Asia) and Peter Crouch (I will be head and shoulders taller than most other people), I think expectation is high. If only they would realise the only way I will be any good is if they bounce the ball off my head into the goal.

One of the benefits of the Labor Union is that it subsidises many after work activities. Football came first, but there is already a growing tennis and badminton club with a dancing club on the way. They have a table football table and ping pong table in the lobby which regularly attracts staff at lunchtime and after hours. I have seen 6 people playing one game of table football already (as with amounts of people on a bike, it seems there is no limit to the number that can play).

I went along to the badminton club on Monday (well it's more fun than the gym). Had a great, although exhausting, time. Although in doors with some wall fans, it still became very hot very quick. I was glad to see that even the locals were sweating a lot, although not quite at the same level as me. I soon got back into playing after a 3 year absence, and also rediscovered some of my favourite drop shots. It was a very tiring two hour session though and I underestimated how much water I was going to need. It proved to be a good opportunity to meet more of the staff and build up a working relationship with them.

Tuesday night and I could not resist trying the tennis. Although I had played a little back home and thought I had grasped the basics, i soon realised how wrong I was. The coach (who speaks no English) tried to explain how to hold the racket properly, something I have been doing wrong up until now. I started working on my forehand, which two small children found highly amusing; especially when they tried to teach me to do it better. Taking the stance of, it's better to learn by playing than just practicing the theory, I joined 3 of the guys in a few games of doubles. I think I need a lot more practice. The techniques for tennis are very different to squash and badminton so I am finding it very hard to adapt. Hopefully I will get some more help tomorrow when I have agreed to play again. The way I see it, I can't do any worse. Again though, it was a good opportunity to meet more staff members.

So, it is tennis again tomorrow and then badminton on Friday. It is all good stamina training for me, but I am missing teaching tae kwon do. Maybe I should start a tae kwon do class........



Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0939s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb