Rain and electricity


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
June 15th 2009
Published: June 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Bit tet (beefsteak) with egg and sausageBit tet (beefsteak) with egg and sausageBit tet (beefsteak) with egg and sausage

Loaded with grease, but it was delicious. You eat it with baguettes. They serve it to you on a sizzling plate. I'm gonna miss this........
Vietnam has been burning up this last week, it's hovering around 90-95 degrees F. I'm just glad I'm not in Hanoi, where it reached 118 the other day. Damn, what is this place, the Sahara? The humididty is my worst enemy; it makes you feel sweaty and sticky the whole day, no matter how many showers you take a day. Good news came today, it rained. Really long and hard too, dropping the temperature by a good 10-15 degrees.

The rain makes this city even more hectic than it already is. Everybody on a moped gets off the street to find cover or to put on a rain coat. I got caught in the rain on the way home from eating a late breakfast. We ate bittet (beefsteak) on the street. It was delicious but it was pretty damn greasy.

I love rain and people watching while it's raining is uber-fun. Check out some of these photos. Can't find this back home, that's for sure. I also took some pics of the electrical lines near my house. I tell ya, the electrical/telephone/dsl wiring, like the city itself, is a goddamn mess. But somehow they both operate fairly efficiently. The balcony of my house is about a good 4 feet from the powerlines, everytime I stand there I think back to the forensics pathology lectures and about how high voltage electricity doesn't need direct contact to shock you........ then I close the doors and back away.

Steve, sorry for the blurry photos. I always forget to bring my camera with me, so I've been using my phone to take the pictures. I'll try to take better pics though.




Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

On the way homeOn the way home
On the way home

Taken from a moped, trying to get home before the rain hits. We failed.


Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb