Day 3: Monks............


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
June 13th 2009
Published: June 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Temple and ceremonyTemple and ceremonyTemple and ceremony

Never again..............
Went for some pho, the quintessential Vietnamese dish. The place we went for breakfast is just a stone throw away from my house but has the absolute best pho I have ever had, (WAY better than A Dong, Steve). Will try to get the address of this place and post it later.

So in Vietnam, after a close relative's death you mourn for 3 years. Today was my the 3rd anniversary of my grandma's death, so my family and I had to go to the temple where her ashes is kept for the ceremony to indicate the end of the mourning period. We spent a good hour waiting for the ceremony to begin, then another hour and a half for ceremony itself. The gay thing about this is that the monks just muttered stuff in Sanskrit the whole time.
Brag: Free accelerated Sanskrit lesson
Beat: Wanted to kill myself half way through it

At night we went to Nha Tranh Re, a Korean restaurant on Hau Giang street next to Superbowl supermaket. It's the only open air Korean restaurant there, and from what my food savvy cousin Tu told me, it's the very best.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Pho Hong on Cach Mang Thang TamPho Hong on Cach Mang Thang Tam
Pho Hong on Cach Mang Thang Tam

The very very best pho..................... Wish I could take some of this back with me
KoreanKorean
Korean

Korean BBQ
KoreanKorean
Korean

Rice, egg and beef


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb