Party for TinTin


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
February 16th 2009
Published: February 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The Vietnamese are a very poor people, but they are very hard working, very happy, and very friendly. They will have a party at the drop of a hat. They will party for any reason, or no reason.

Nam owned a com, a small food cart, across the street for the alley where my guest house was located. He, his married son, and his wife worked there. It was open in the evening and through the night. I ate there several nights a week. That’s how I got to know Nam.

Nam’s daughter-in-law had her first child on November 11, a girl. Her grandfather celebrated with a huge party. I was lucky enough to be invited. It turned out I was the only westerner there.

The party was at a rented hall. I don’t know the address. Hough, a motorbike driver, was also invited. She took me there and back. It was a 5 minute ride each way.

The room had 12 large round tables that seated 10 or 12 people each. Beside each table was a case of beer with a large bucket of ice. As the beer was consumed, the cases and ice were replaced. I think we drank 4 cases at my table.

Soon after we arrived the food began to come out. Dish after dish was set in the center of the tables. We dove in. There was a stage with a DJ playing Vietnamese music.

Shortly after the food arrived Nam got up on the stage and made a speech welcoming his grand daughter into the world. Then karaoke began. It is my contention that Vietnam will never be completely accepted into the world until karaoke is banned, or at least restricted. But everyone at the party loved it, and one after another took the microphone and sang a few songs. Others danced.

After a few hours the food stopped coming and the beer consumption slowed. The party began to break up. Hough and I returned to the cafe close to guest house, and were were joined by others shortly. After while Nam came back and began opening his com. I had a few iced teas, then walked to my guest house for the night.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb