Planes, Tanks and Agent Orange


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
April 30th 2008
Published: April 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

New mozzie bites: About 4
Strange things eaten today: only 1, so far
Disturbing pics of Agent Orange Warfare: too many

This morning was looking good, I'd set my alarm (I know I'm on holiday, but after the last couple of days I thought it a good idea) and was all set to get up and have an action packed sight-seeing day. The shouty man was nowhere to be heard, and then before I'd even raised my weary head off the pillow (remember last night's snails et al) the skies opened.. my first monsoon. Thank god I hadn't set the alarm any earlier or I might of actually been outside. I went up to the roof terrace to watch it and got soaked.. hmmm brains, back of queue..

Breakfast consisted of the crazy fruit purchases from yesterday, all pretty good, but you have to be very careful not to get them near your clothes as they contain lots of natural dye, so I let Ric do the honours!

Once the rain had calmed a little I headed off up to the War Remnants Museum. Not sure what I made of it yet. You're greeted in the yard by
Army IssueArmy IssueArmy Issue

It's a Cessna... my boy can fly this!
US tanks, bulldozers, planes and bombs. Then you are led through a series of rooms filled with pictures from the photo-journalists who covered the 'American War'. Obviously it's all a little one-sided, but I can cope with that - head to Washington if you want 'balance'! Inside the main hall you're faced with images of the victims of Agent Orange and napalm. Not a pretty sight, and I was glad lunch was a way off. But the piece de resistance has to be the deformed foetuses, pickled for preservation purposes and displayed in glass jars not dissimilar to your gurkhins. The whole thing is made a bit worse by the tourists taking photos.. I couldn't bring myself to take pics of the main displays inside. It just felt a bit disrespectful. Will the Americans never learn?

The rain hasn't let up for most of the day, but it retired to a light drizzle and it's still really hot, so I wandered off towards the Reunification Palace. Some snotty guard wouldn't let me in..I think I'd arrived just before one of their 'closing' periods, but I wasn't too bothered about as it's apparently full of 60's kitsch and was rebuilt
Big BombsBig BombsBig Bombs

The smaller one is a nasty chemical one.. not that any of them are nice.
around then anyway, so not a patch on Buck House!

Dinner (again by myself, am getting used to this, although I was armed with my book this time) consisted of pork, rice, egg cake (don't ask, I didn't know even after I'd tasted it) and a massive plate of stir fry veg. A pepsi and a coffee.. and change from four pounds.

With my belly full, next stop was Ben Thanh Market, the city's biggest. Reminded me of tat alley though. This place could put Regent Street in Yarmouth to shame. So still no shopping.. (you'd be proud of me Nick!)

My hair seems to have turned to ringlets .. I told you I should've packed the straighteners!

Tonight will be spent without beer. Tomorrow I'm off to the Cu Chi Tunnels, and for that the alarm will be set early 😞

Photos coming as soon I work out how!

Missing you all xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

The GuilotineThe Guilotine
The Guilotine

Left behind by the French, nice of them don't you think!


30th April 2008

A rainy day in Wantage....
Wow you sound as though you're having the time of your life! I'm sitting wrapped in several jumpers watching the rain lashing down in Oxfordshire, but you've made me feel as though I'm right there with you. You should consider writing for a living you know. You know, something like journalism...??!! Kaija I'm in awe of you tackling a trip like this by yourself. Have a wonderful time and keep us posted! Loads of love Ali xxxxxx

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb