It's hot out of the city...!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Tay Ninh
May 1st 2008
Published: May 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Picture anyone?Picture anyone?Picture anyone?

Walls and walls of lacquer
What a start to the day...or rather what an end to yesterday. Caroline and I sat up chatting til nearly 2 this morning, despite the fact I had an alarm call in order to meet my trip at 0815. Up and about fresh as a daisy five hours after going to bed I should've known something was going to go a little wrong. I made myself some sarnies (having been warned how bad the food was likely to be for lunch) and sorted out my laundry, had breakfast and generally chilled. Then I remembered I had to be somewhere.. a mad dash and on the back of a xe om (that's a scooter taxi, but actually translates as 'motorbike hug'!)
Hmm.. this won't surprise any of you who know me, but I arrived just as the bus had left. I asked if I could catch up with it on a bike, James Bond stlyee, and the weirdest thing happened.. they put me and another couple in a minibus taxi and took us up to the first sight about an hours drive away, for no extra cost! Very nice people at the Kim Cafe.

The first sight was the 'Handicapped Handicrafts'
Hand carvings Hand carvings Hand carvings

It'd look great in the living room!
and I wish they hadn't been so quick the alternative transport arrangements! This was a warehouse stacked with more laquered items than you can ever dream you don't need. Even shoes. And I like my shoes but these are a little ridiculous. Everything was pretty expensive and most of the bus loads of tourists loitering outside clearly had no intention of parting with their Tiger money.

So onwards (eventually) to the Cai Dai Holy See Cathedral. The craziest building I've ever seen. There was lots of pink. Lots of dragons, a few turtles and lots of eyes. Lots of them. On the way we would've driven a long the road where the really famous photo from the war was taken of the young girl, naked and covered in flames fleeing a napalm attack. But the guide didn't point this out. More on why later.

Anyway the Cao Dai Great Temple is well, rather gaudy. Once inside... women through the left door, men through the right (and all take your shoes off please). This place doesn't seem to know whether it's a Cathedral (they have a pope), a Pagoda (lots of dragons) or a Hindu temple (all the colours are prominent in the Hindu faith). The main 'saints' this religion honours include a French poet and a Chinese Nationalist. But the people were lovely. Us foreigners weren't allowed in the middle, where the floor reminded me of Alice in Wonderland, but had to stick to the sides. Most of the worshippers were very old men and women dressed head to toe in white. A few - the monks, nuns and professors were decked out in yellow, blue and red robes depending on how important they are. I think red's more my colour! Before the service started we were directed to the upstairs balcony - somewhat used to being gawped at by tourists while they pray - and as the low-humm-chanting and joss-stick-wafting started, so did the camera flashbulbs. Despite the ridiculousness of the whole thing - and by now feeling a little giddy from the funky paint work, it was actually quite a calm and pleasant experience.

I ducked out before the end though, and left them kneeling on the floor rocking backwards and forwards like a corn field.
Outside it's 40 degrees and sticky. Back on the air con'd bus for lunch.

We were taken to
Inside the Cao Dai Temple Inside the Cao Dai Temple Inside the Cao Dai Temple

I see you, seeing me!
a local restaurant. Most of us refused to sit in the room they'd laid out for us cos it smelt like a public loo, but the food tasted OK. I was brave enough to try the sweet and sour pork, but most of the girls stuck to veggie rice. It's amazing how many westerners turn vegetarian out here, but it'll take more than a roadside cafe and couple of young pups running around to put me off!
Oh and did I mention I'd left my sarnies at home during the morning panic!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

The ladies...The ladies...
The ladies...

... nattering before service starts
PrayingPraying
Praying

And in such neat rows, my mum'd be proud!


1st May 2008

Pictures
Wow, these pictures are fantastic. It looks amazing. Its not your mum that would be proud of the strict rows of praying, that is a true Nick appreciation society meeting. You have got to love the military style to that. Whoop Whoop pull up. Love it. What a fantastic blog.

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb