The Whole City is saying "Marijuana"


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
April 25th 2007
Published: April 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

SushiSushiSushi

Ingrid and I dined on sushi, while Golo had a boring salad
Good Morning Viet Nam!!

Ho Chi Min City is a massive place with a population of 11.5 million ppl. Unfortunatly it is the only stop that I will be making in Vietnam because my visa runs out on the 5th of May. Ohh well there were many good times had here!

The majority of the trip was spent in suit shops, markets and of course my wonderful a/c room with T.V. and a fridge for the beers. I purchased 2 dinner/ sport jackets, a full suit and 3 shirts that came with a tie! My purchases also included 30 DVD's 6 box sets of T.V. series and shirts. I had a blast bargining with the ladies and hitting the small eateries along the way.

I visited the war museum and the old Communist building of the Vietnam government. The war museum was a little disappointing after seeing the pics of Corey's adventures in Hanoi. THe pictures were overwhelming of violence and destruction. There were also a couple of tanks, fighter jets, helicopters and artillary cannons. The communist building was left exactly as it was when the government was thrown out.

Also this is the point where
Flash backFlash backFlash back

Exploring the jungle temple
I seperated from my German friends. We had been traveling together for almost a month and a half. They flew back to Bangok and headed off to Koh Tao, while I stayed back and waited for a suit to finish. Then I took the bust back to Bangok. Traveling on my own is like no other. I love it and hate it all at the same time. It gets lonely at times, but it most definitely has its ups!! I look forward to gettin to a beach here soon, I just have to pick one that is not being rained on, since it is the beginning of the rainy season here.

Look forward to seeing all of you soon!!

Take care, gotta go.

Your Guide Jordan

p.s. Every where you went you were confronted by someone offering to sell you ganja. The police didn't seem to mind since these guys were offering it right in front of them! Crazy place.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Out of Gas!!Out of Gas!!
Out of Gas!!

Our cab ran ot of gas on the way to the resturant, so he ran and got some while we waited on the sidewalk
Getting FittedGetting Fitted
Getting Fitted

Gonna look sooo good for the first date
Out of moneyOut of money
Out of money

Golo and Ingrid were running short on money. Golo realized that he wasn't good enough looking to pimp himself out so he settled on selling books
Reunification PalaceReunification Palace
Reunification Palace

The old Communist headquarters
View from my hotle roomView from my hotle room
View from my hotle room

Not much to look at, thats why it had a T.V.
And than there were 3And than there were 3
And than there were 3

Had to pick up a new bag to hold all the gifts
Drop those bombs!!Drop those bombs!!
Drop those bombs!!

Giving orders in the basement HQ of the Reunification Palace
Massive CannonMassive Cannon
Massive Cannon

War Museum
Bombs awayBombs away
Bombs away

This was one of the bombs that teh US used to bomb Vietnam...massive
You tell'em GoloYou tell'em Golo
You tell'em Golo

"I said I want a cheese pizza, you moron!"
Killer BurgerKiller Burger
Killer Burger

At at the Black Cat, which had the largest burger


5th May 2007

Love this blog
Jordan, Just thought i'd leave you a message saying how much i am a enjoying reading your blog. Sounds like your having a really great time. Take care, Chris
10th May 2007

Cheeeeese!
And the Pizza was so awful! This fellas in Saigon hardly know how to make a pizza! Anyway, the book business foto is good :-) See you in Bangkok on the 18th! Cheers Golo
10th May 2007

Good times
Pizza and Burgers, How about the Pho soup, yep those Vietnamese definetely can't master the italian art of Pizza. Good to here you got some suits made J. I have been wearing mine around whitehorse at the response has been quite amusing, See ya soon Corey

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb