saigon pastime


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
October 2nd 2006
Published: October 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Coffee shops are where vietnamese men gather for their pastime. They can be there at anytime of the day, morning, breaks between work, afternoon, afterwork, at night, ... It is the place that they meet potential business partners, and and to socialize with friends, associates, co-workers. It is also the place that business transaction takes place quite often. I am amazed at the amount of time they devote there rather than at home with family. I found myself often be taken there to spend an enormous amount of time for ... nothing, really.

Anyway, my time in vietnam is soon over. It was good to be back for a visit of the homeland where I was born but I'm ready to go back to the States where I currently live and where things are more constructed and I can be more productive.

I have had a good time to visit friends and relatives. I have been quite constantly on the move .....rather than relaxation.

Things I have done:
- paid a visit to a cousin who I have not seen for a long time and to meet my cousin's son who has quite a good knowledge of English and world geography. I was treated well. Went to the shop to purchase my suitcase for the return home trip.
- visited the Ben Thanh market to buy fabric to make "ao dai" for my sisters ...and arranged to pick up in time for my departure to the States.
- got a professional facial massage at a reputable establishment courtesy of a friend.
- had a fabulous buffet dinner at Hao Bang restaurant where I ate so much of vietnamese delicacies ...which I have not eaten for a long time.
- went to a hospital emergency room ...to "hang out," meet the staffs (my doctor friend work there) and see where I should have been working if I chose to stay behind, and not to come to the States years ago.
-ate pho on a street corner with bustling and noisy traffic
- spent some quality time in bookstores to check out books and CD, DVD, music VCD and to escape the heat and humid of saigon in mid-days.
- be braved and took rides with strangers who is so-called "honda taxi" ...and I was once driven by a drunk driver (strong alcohol smell) but luckily I made it to the destination ...safely.
- did get a haircut for 1 dollar on the last day before leaving for the airport and got my ear cleaned ...which was ..an experience hard to forget.
- took long distance public express buses and vowed not ever wanting to do it again.
-slept on hard-woood bed without any cushion ...and in a net to prevent mosquitos from ...eating you alive...
-operated a motocycle ...without proper liscense ... and took a drunk friend home safely...
- went to a motocycle shop ...where people trade in an old motocycle and where potential buyers go to purchase a motocycle.
- drank pure, clean, fresh sugarcane juice ...twice from street vendors in the city and in the countryside.
- be taken to a club to listen to live music (free of charge) entertained by famous artists and comedians but pay dearly for the drink (understandably).
- jogging around a park in the morning in the city (trying to lose some pounds from too much of eating ...)
-wandering on unknown streets like ...a foreigner unlike a local in hot, humid days
- got stranded in a shop during a heavy rainy day (just a while), bought some good inexpensive shorts, and athletic shirts. ....



Advertisement



Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 27; qc: 119; dbt: 0.16s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb