Last day and the markets.


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City » District 1
November 16th 2016
Published: November 17th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Our tenth and last day in Vietnam started off slowly. We woke up and showered and faffed then took a wander to a cafe we had seen the day before which had a big vegetarian menu. It was called Albatross travel cafe and I decided to make an exception to my rule of buying only Vietnamese food to order vegan fish and chips. Simply because I had never seen that on any menu anywhere in the world before. The first plate of food they brought me was actual fish and chips - not that I was surprised, mistakes like that are made all the time even when there is no language barrier! They quickly brought me a new one, the 'fish' being tofu wrapped in seaweed and batter. Actually very nice though extremely filling.

The rest of the day was spend wandering, I find myself never getting bored of walking around this country as there is always so much to see. I am never short of amazement at how precariously they are able to stack scooters with anything and everything.

We decided to head to Ben Tham markets on a whim and hopped in a taxi, it turns out
'Minho''Minho''Minho'

The little dog who lived at the hotel.
it was rush hour so took quite a long time for a short journey, but as I say there is so much to look at I was not bothered at all. The markets themselves were packed full of people and so many stalls bursting with reams of beautiful material, clothes and makeup alongside food and so many nik naks it was hard to know where to start! I found it a bit unnerving the way the sellers would shout for you and the second you looked at something they would start trying to haggle. I understand it's their livelihood and the way things work over there but as a first time experience it was a bit difficult to know how to politely decline sometimes.

A lovely dinner of sweet and sour tofu in a rooftop bar rounded off our last night in Vietnam very nicely. I sat and chatted with the owner of the hotel for a while about his dog and I told him I thought him and his family had done a great job with the hotel which seemed to make him happy; they really were lovely people

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb