Thank god were alive still!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City » District 1
November 16th 2012
Published: November 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Jeeeeez!! Today has been mental! We booked an organised tour to the Mekong Delta last night so were up bright and early at 7am for brekkie and then walked down to the tour shop to catch our bus ride there...

We got on the bus which was completely full except for two seats right at the back between a group of arab men and a big fat chinese woman. Sean got the short straw and was next to the chinese woman who had her rolls smothering him for the whole journey giving me extreme amounts of entertainment haha! Anyway the bus got going and straight away I realised this was going to be the most unrelaxing journey EVER.

The driver was absolutely insain, I mean the roads are bad enough with bikes weaving in and out of everywhere and pedestrians walking straight into the road (which is what u have to do or you would never ever get across!) but when you have bus drivers that dont think twice about killing all of their passengers by driving inches away from lorrys in front and breaking so hard u fly forward or going over bumps so fast your whole body lifts a foot of the seat it makes it a whole lot worse! And rather than slow down when there was traffic ahead, he would accelerate and just beep his horn ridiculously loud to get them to move out of the way! So needless to say I was happy to finally get off that bus!

We went all around the mekong, saw families living on the water and stopped at a coconut candy making place which was pretty cool and a bee hive place where I man stuck my fingers straight onto the hive of bees to get the honey off (it was deeelicious)! Got taken about on a horse and carriage and I felt so bad for the skinny ill looking horses I said I wanted to walk but the guides said no I had to get on which wasnt very nice 😞 I could write so much about it but I wouldnt want to bore you yet so I'll just do that when I get home with all the pictures instead 😉

Anyway we are meant to br getting a sleeper train up to Nah Trang tonight but having trouble finding tickets so may be here another night. Going to get going and try to sort it out! Hopefully tomorrow we will be sunning it up at the beach :D

Advertisement



16th November 2012

amazing
OMG - I could have never gone down those tunnels! The guy standing behind Sean looks like he was never going to let him out! Amazing pics and glad you are having a good time - busses aside! So what are the hostels like then? Are you managing to at least stay together or is it bunks? I am so jealous as I look out of my COLD London window! It's getting freezing here now and dark at 4pm! Don't miss home! Helen and I are going to a Christmas market on the Southbank near the London Eye tonight. We did the same thing in Dubai last year when it was 35 degrees over there! Enjoy your trip to the beach. . .love reading your posts and seeing your trip. makes me want to travel again!! Sxxx
20th November 2012

You'll never complain about my driving again!! ha ha - poor Sean! love Mxx

Tot: 0.188s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1139s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb