Saigon=Sickgon


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City » District 1
December 1st 2011
Published: December 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well we made it to Saigon, only I bought my stomach bug with me....

So night one: we made it out to dinner where i managed a plate of chips (well done me). It was actually a good night. We met a couple of Argentinians who have to be the happiest most hyperactive people we have met. Ive never seen two people laugh so much at nothing. They spoke a little bit of Vietnamese which was pretty cool. We also met a german footballer who lived in Cyprus for a year. I couldnt stomach too much of an evening so we ventured back to our hotel where we were greeted with an american tv channel so we had a night of masterchef USA.

Day one:We ventured out into Saigon where we vistied the catherdral and wait for it...the post office!! It was actually pretty cool. The city is awesome and really nice to walk about. It was however really hot and my body failed me. Hiral bought us some coconuts which i couldnt stomach and somehow i made it back to the hotel room where i stayed in bed. We did go out for dinner and even saw the Argentines again. I ate some spaghetti but alas i was destined to a night on the toilet.

Day two: We had planned for a trip to the tunnels but i stayed in bed all day. Thank god for Hiral who has been looking after me. In the end she took me to a clinic where i was told that i had a food parasite- so basically food posioning- waaaa. I was given some toxic medication and sent home.

Day three: Back to the clinic where i was given a blood test and i had to scoop my own poop for a stool sample. All good though, my medication killed the bug yay so now i just need to rest up and hopefully return to normal soon. The doctor felt sorry for me, he said its too hot for someone so small lol.

Its been a bummer of a few days but Hiral has been amazing so thank you Hilly. I guess once im better i will laugh about scooping my poo out of a toilet bowl- urgh.

My advice- come to Vietnam but bring your own food. The medical care is good though- nicest clinic ive ever seen. Doctor wasnt Vietnamese though, he was south american, now i really cant wait to get there 😊

M xx

Advertisement



1st December 2011

Awesome!
Wow! sounds like you girls are having a great time! Woohooo. Wish I was there! Mel, I know exactly how you feel, I have just spent the last couple of days in bed, was puking violently 2 nights ago and the rest, really bad cramps argh the worst! Thankfully it has passed, but I've hardly eaten. Brave you! The food in Vietnam all sounds amazing! yummm Where are you off to next? Is Ha Long bay on the list? I hope you see this message! Keep em coming xxxxx
3rd December 2011

whow - continue blogging !
Mel - sorry to hear that you were not well but great to hear that you are well now. Must visit Vietnam in future but not in summer sounds like. Take care both !!!!

Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.06s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb