There's a rumbly in my tumbly


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City » District 1
March 10th 2011
Published: March 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This is our last full day in Ho Chi Minh City. The group leaves for the U.S. in the morning and I am off to Hanoi, the capital in the north. The temperature will be much more to my liking, mid 70's. The past few days have been a complete blur of tours and shopping, nearly done with this jet lag business.

Last night was interesting. A few of the more adventurous in our group wanted to try an "authentic" meal of cobra. I think it maybe as authentic as a bowl of chitterlings in the states because there were numerous locals gaping at the display. None of the snake is wasted, the beating heart in a shot of vodka, the blood and bile mixed with vodka for a lovely before dinner cocktail, boiled snake, fried snake bones, minced snake (which I hear is the most western way to enjoy). I stuck to the spring rolls and rice cakes.

Brian


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Their version of a catfish farmTheir version of a catfish farm
Their version of a catfish farm

These workers spend their lunch break fishing for prawns.


11th March 2011

Cobra
That's my boy
11th March 2011

snake and alcohol
I'm glad there aren't any snakes in Scotland. I'll have a pint o Whisky and rattler. njoy your adventure, to the North
11th March 2011

Great Photos!!!!
Any way to find some Tums???
11th March 2011

Great Photos!
Brian, hope you and the group have enjoyed the week and learned new things. Looks like the groups flight goes through HK, so hopefully there aren't any delays because of the tsunami through Japan. Have a great trip up north - I'm sure you'll enjoy Ha Long Bay!
11th March 2011

hello
Hey Brian, remember me? I love reading about your travels. How exciting! Hope you have some pepto with you. Be safe.
17th March 2011

cobra blood?
Did you have any? Make you strong! I feel like I'm watching an episode of Bizarre Foods!
17th March 2011

none for me thanks.
I do not need snake blood to make me feel strong. :) Thanks for the camera recommendation. I love it.

Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0539s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb