Drinking etiquettes of Vietnam


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast
January 12th 2014
Published: April 26th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Vietnam consist of three geographical regions: North, Central and South. Each has its own unique accent and drinking etiquette. When drinking with locals from Saigon it is common that you hand the shot glass and the bottle over to the next person, so they could pour the amount they would like to drink. If you find yourself drinking with locals in Hue it is proper to refill the shot glass for the next person. If you don't they will probably look at you funny or think you're from the southern part of the country. After drinking with locals from the south and central part of Vietnam, you might be curious about how people in Hanoi drinks. Well, in Hanoi everyone tends to have their own shot glass and all drink at the same time. I'm not 100%!s(MISSING)ure about the last regions, but that's what I remember. Go and find out for yourself if you'd like. Mot, Hai, Ba Dooo! (Cheers)


"Today, my plan was to motorbike from Hoi An to Hue. Negative thoughts were going thru my mind. I'm frozen in fear. I'm not sure why I have decided to do this. Maybe its because everyone said its something you should do. Do I really want to do this or not? Am I doing it because of external influences? Action must be taken.. I either do or I don't. No more thinking or worrying about it. I find myself at odds with my wants and needs versus my instinct. With hesitation, I went with my gut feeling...What a relief! Once again my gut instinct was right.
I don't know what to say...It breaks my heart to see the condition, in which Cau hung and his wife are living. It was quite shocking at first. I will hold my judgement until more is known. So many questions..Are they in love? What will happen when great gramma pass away? Who will take care of them? There are indeed more questions then there are answers in life. I hope they find happiness in their lives. I am realizing that everyone has the capacity to be happy. Its a matter of choosing to be so. It also breaks my heart to see great gramma in this state...Although, she is alive, is she happy and is this worth living for?"
Journal Entry: 01.12.2014

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb