Last Day at the Homestay


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
August 3rd 2016
Published: August 8th 2016
Edit Blog Post

In a way it was sad to be leaving the homestay. I had special treatment - meaning I got a good rate and also got invited to a few lunched provided by the staff. But I was looking forward to getting out of that room. I need more space. The unit we are renting is the same price as the homestay - except at the homestay we would get breakfast - and of course not have to pay for water or electricity, and get clean towels daily. Small pleasures to give up in order to have a nice "house" to live in. I go for lunch across the road at my friend's little local eating place. I am reluctant to call it a "restaurant" - just because it's lacking a few little things that are the difference between a restaurant and somewhere where you can get some food and drink - without the "fanciness" of a restaurant. My friends are concerned that when I move to the house - I will visit them less. They have been used to me staying in homestays that have all been within 1-5 minutes walk of them. Now I will be about 1km away. They're concerned I might get in with a different set!!! I assured them I/we would visit several times a week for meals and chit chat. The oldest son - Minh works at a villa about 300m from where I will live, so I will see him regularly. When he's working there - he lets me use the swimming pool as a "guest". Minh's father Chi has decided my motorbike needs a new rear tyre - so he has arranged to take it to one of the local bike shops to get a new one. The damage was $7 all up - about the same price I paid yesterday just to get a new tube!!!! So I guess $14 for a new tyre and tube is not a bad deal!!! Try getting that in Australia. Ha!

In the evening I pack - which took all of a few minutes because I really didn't unpack. I go Minh's place for a few nibblies and a cold beer - then decide I need to have an early night. 8.30pm is early!!! Good night Vietnam!!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb