The Hoi An boat race


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
February 5th 2012
Published: February 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I have spent longer in Hoi An than expected. I have been caught up in the pretty lanterns & quaint old streets. The suit was made to perfection & I have also ordered another dress since my last blog. The food is amazing with my favourite dish being the Cao lau, which is made with thick noodles & bean sprouts. Yesterday I learnt how to make 2 dishes at a restuarant so I can try them at home. It was interesting going into the kitchen of a restuarant & watching them prepare all the food. On saturday I also spent the afternoon wandering around the old buildings of the town & watched a cultural performance of dance & music.

Yesterday there was a festival for the beginning of the lunar new year & there was a boat race on the river. 8 boats competed against each other, each paddling furiously in time to the beat of a drum. The river banks were packed with locals & tourists to watch the teams from different hamlets compete. In the evening the lights on the river were turned off & it was lit by lanterns. Many people also purchased lanterns to float down the river, which made a beautiful site. Today is a long day, a 4 hour bus journey to Hue, 4 hours in Hue & then the overnight bus to Hanoi.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb