Hoi An part 2


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
May 18th 2006
Published: May 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ok this is ridiculous. I've done the south of Vietnam and loved it. But I've allready been to Hoi An on my first visit to the country. This is where I had my suit tailored. And now I went ahead and got a shirt and a couple pairs of shorts made. It's so cheap you just get sucked right into it. I'm going to breeze north to Hanoi and fly somewhere. It seems I'm getting a bit southeast asia-ed out. It's great but at the same time I'm totally sick of people thinking I'm a walking ATM. You can't go anywhere without saying, "No thank you" a dozen times. It's getting hard to be polite. I yelled at someone for the first time on my travels. I agreed on a price with a driver and then he drops me off and doubles the price. I just kinda decided right there, "No more". I was ready to strangle the guy. Kudos to those travellers that can spend months upon months in asia and not lose it. Unfortunately I don't think I can hack it. Maybe I'm just having a bad few days and it will pass and I'll chill out again.
As far as heading to the Philippines...bad idea. It's rainy season and they just had a devastating typhoon which headed up to Hong Kong and hit them hard. We felt the effects on the beach even. The water is really unusually cold and there are massive waves. It was kinda fun I was body surfing the waves (but trying not to drown). A couple times I got slammed pretty hard. I'm almost sure I will fly from Hanoi to Indonesia (it's dry there this time of year) but I will have to look for cheap flights. I know I am always changing my plans from day to day, but it's nice to have a choice. I can do whatever I want!
Anyways, the past week has been crazy. Nha Trang is a big party town and all the party animals came up to Hoi An at the same time. There's a group of like 18 of us that have been going out every night but I'm ready to take it easy for a while now. We all rented bicycles a couple nights ago and went on a bar crawl. My bike got a flat tire so it was tough pedalling for ol' Scotty. Turned out to be a good thing though cuz I got to double with a really cute Swedish girl on the way back. Those swedes have good genes, I tell ya.
Soon I'll have to part ways with the great group I've been travelling with and it's gonna be weird for a while I suppose. But no matter where you go you meet good people.
Stay tuned kids, there's more crazy decisons to follow!

Advertisement



19th May 2006

Scott, I would love to not know what I am doing the next second. Don't feel bad about screaming at the dude either. I would have for sure. It would be so annoying them constantly begging for your money. You are looking a bit skinny now too, so it is a good thing that you have been out partying and drinking as much as you have, you need to put some more weight on....Well Scott careful on your travels! Love you!.....and if getting more flats means more women....Go for it you stud!......haha
20th May 2006

Swedes
Hi honey. Of course the Swedes have good genes - your mother comes from that bloodline. TeeHee Looking to get out of the rainy season. You sure don't want to get caught in any tsunami's, hurricanes, typhoons. Keep in touch, And Chill Out! Luv Mom
22nd May 2006

P.S.
I don't think you look too skiinny and even if I did drinking and partying is not the way to put weight on. I think you look great. Be careful on who's advise you take! MOM

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0256s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb