Doctor doctor, gimme the news!! - Hoi An


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
July 30th 2010
Published: July 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Ok, the following is out of date. I wrote it the day before yesterday I think. But the computers at the hotel are worse than crap, and the wifi doesn't work. A guy said he'd fix it in 20 minutes ... it's been two days now. If that's his 20 minutes then I don't want his working days. Then again, he doesn't seem to be working at all. So I'n writing this now on a laptop of one of the employees from the Diving Cafe here in Hoi An. Hoi is is very pretty in the evening, with all the lights.

Btw, I read your message Lise ;P Do whatever you want but please please don't touch -anything- in the built-in closet (with the servers). Even though they're not running ... please don't move them, the disks can still be damaged and the large server is -very- -very- heavy. You can't even lift it alone so please don't move anything in there =)

I also went to the doctor here in Hoi An, because it was clear that the stomach problems weren't going away. It had to be bacterial, and the doctor confirmed it was. No worries! I'm all better. I got some antibiotics and a little bag from Unesco (feeling like a third world country here now =P) that I had to dissolve into 1 liter of water and drink. It tastes like ... bad =) But the stomach problems have gone and I've had 0 problems so far, even after 2 dinners and 1 lunch. Feeling ok again is great!

Not sure what I wrote 2 days ago, but on the 31st we're flying to Hanoi. It's 3,5 hours in total (bus to Danang + fly to Hanoi + us to Hanoi to then go to ha Long Bay probably), which is much better than a 17,5 hour busride! That turns into a 20 hour busride for sure, because they're always late.

Ok, so all this, what you just read, happened -after- what's below here.
I'll try to update sooner, but ... once again, finding a good, working connection is sometimes harder than you might think. So thank you to the Diving Cafe and the owner of this laptop 😉

------ written 2 days ago ---------

Right, pulled into Hoi An last night after a ... way too long bus ride. I'll keep things short this time.

Met a French couple in Nha Trang who were also coming to Hoi An. We shared a mini bus and went on the sleeping bus together. This bus stopped -everywhere- to deliver huge blocks of ice to vendors along the streets. So it took a long time to get here.

But the ride was worth it. I took a number of pictures from inside the bus, which was rather hard to do. I hope they turn out well on the big screen, I don't know yet.

The bus dropped the French couple and myself off 10 km from Hoi An, as the bus drove on to Danang. We shared a taxi here. I think the total travelling time was about 13 hours or so? I don't know.

Anyway, the first thing I did was get to a computer with internet access, as Caroline arrived the same day but in the morning. She would send me a message as to where she booked a room. And she did! All the rooms here in Hoi An are quite expensive. So she booked a double room, 2 large beds. By sharing the cost for the room we actually pay less then others do for a single room, so thats good!

We didn't do much yesterday because I arrived quite late. We booked a tour to the Cham Towers and then had something to eat as she hadn't eaten yet either. I took a side dish of spring rolls and fried rice with pineapple. The fired rice was cooked in stead of fried, but the pineapple tasted good. The spring rolls ... I have to say I was really really disappointed about those ... How can someone in Vietnam screw up spring rolls??? The funny thing was however, Caroline had a pizza. 10 minutes later a dilivery boy came to the restaurant and delivered the pizza to the kitchen, after which it ended up at our table, haha.

After that Caroline went back to the hotel and I had a walk in town. There are some lights here in Hoi An, and it's very nice to see in the evening. But you've seen it in about 10 minutes, so it's nothing much. There are also a few stores that sell some really nice Asian lampshades .... I'm thinking about it 😉

Then it was off to bed for me as well.

In the morning I was feeling quite bad. But I already had my ticket booked for the Cham Towers, so I went along. The first few hours I felt really really bad actually. In the bus I was anything but enjoying the ride. And about 80% of the tour itself I was quite miserable as well. But eventually, as I drank more water and ate a few Pringles (lifesavers I tell you!!) I started feeling better.

We also booked a flight from Danang to Hanoi today. It's costly ... but we were looking at a 17,5 hour busride. You really really get tired of these long busrides inbetween cities. And the rides always take longer anyway. So it would probably be 20 hours, almost. Compared to that, a 40 minute busride to Danang + 45 minutes flying + maybe a 40 minute busride to Hanoi ... make the conclusion yourselves =)

Sooooo for now, that's it I guess. I'm feeling better, but have no plans for now as diving is very expensive here. Certainly if you've never done it before (1.600.000 VND for an hour). So ... bye all.

Oh btw I seem to be unable to at least send messages. I tried texting you Lise but it fails. I have no idea if you tried to send me something, in any case I haven't received anything. Miss you though! xx

Advertisement



2nd August 2010

stomach problems
Hello, I'm in Hoi An and I have stomach problems since 3 days, I have to see a doctor...Can you tell me which doctor did you seen and the price. Thank you
4th August 2010

Doctor doctor
Damn, I had written a long reply. But of course the connection dropped. So, I'll keep it shorter this time. I've been cruising Ha Long Bay for a few days, no internet there. So this message may come late. You can find the doctor in Duong Le Loi, number 74. It can get busy, so he may ask you to come back later in the day. I paid 25 US dollars. Hope this helps.

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0653s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb