A pfaffie way to get there


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
January 23rd 2010
Published: January 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Thai AirThai AirThai Air

Ah all pink and purple :)
Another silly o'clock start. I knew I would be getting used to this time. While at University, I loved being awake at this time, and in fact it was my favourite time to be awake. Everything is so peaceful. I still find it a peaceful time to be awake, but call it getting old, but my body doesn't like to be awake at this time anymore. Also I was awoken by the phone. I did actually jump out of my bed, however my brain was not in gear and couldn't figure out what to do. Luckily F picked the phone up, coz I was standing there like a bit of a prat. I hate being woken up with a start - it hurts me to my core. The reason for seeing this silly time again, was the fact that we had an early flight. To Vietnam? Oh no, that would be too simple. To Bangkok. That name always reminds of the joke - what does a man get if he walks through airport gate sideways? Banged Cock. Lol - very stupid, but even now it makes me giggle for ages. Im actually sitting here having giggling fits, which makes it quite
AhhhhhhAhhhhhhAhhhhhh

Vietnam Airlines - Cwock wants to get off. The bunny if Floppsy, HB's bunny.
hard to type.

Anyhoo, we had a flight on Thai Air International. HB was so excited because everything in the plane was pink and purple. Excellent! I can understand that excitement. We where in Buisness again. I tell you, I am going to hate flying cattle class after this. Thankfully we all slept on this 3hr flight. So we were in Bangkok, now where too? Straight to Hoi An? Oh no, don't be stupid - to Siagon. Even the mention of that name makes me start to sing the Heat is on in Siagon from the musical Miss Siagon. And which airline where we flying now? That is right Vietnam Airlines. Great. That is perfect. That sounds like one of those horror planes where only your will power keeps it up in the air. While waiting for our flight we checked out the lounge. We got turffed out of the first one because we weren't flying Thai Air any more. When Mr G said that the name of this lounge we were going to was called Lougi's Tavern, we all thought he was making a joke because of the crappy airline we were flying. But no, it really was
In the AirIn the AirIn the Air

The view of Hoi An from the Air.
called Lougi's Tavern! F and I spent the whole time making HB's Singa and Pore disappear using magic. I tell you, all you need to keep a 5 yr old entertained is 2 small teddies, a SIA plastic lunch box and some magic words.

Surprisingly the Vietnam Airlines plane was quite nice. We where the only people in buisness class. Although Mrs G and I were a little concered that it looked like the pilot had one of the cockpit (hehehe banged cock) windows open. Hmmmmmmm. This flight only took an hour. It is amazing how quickly a flight goes when you have to make up a story. Mine was about the Elves and the shoe maker, and I swear I have no idea what I was saying half the time, or even if I had the right story, but HB was happy with it. To really sell a story you need the facial expressions. If you can get the child to copy your expressions then it really doesn't matter what you say - they will be sold. We landed at Siagon airport, and I was half expecting to see a shed, but to my utter amazement it was
The viewThe viewThe view

The view from the living room, and my room!
a very decent airport. I would rate it higher than Heathrow, but then again that isn't hard to beat. Our plane actually disembarked at the domestic shed but they bused us to the International termanial. I say bused us, they really did only bus us. We were pretty much the only people in Buisness class, and normally when you have to get on a bus they fill it. This bus was quite large, big enough to put a large portion of the passangers. But no, as soon as we had got on said bus, it shut its doors and headed to the terminal! You should have seen the faces of the cattle class passengers who tried to get on. Hehehehe (not that I am mean or anything). At the terminal we had the formalities of filling out our visa forms, I really do mean just the formalities as they had already stamped my passport with my visa before I had handed the forms in. Not at all like getting a visa for America - god that takes a whole day of questions like why is your name Anita? Ermmmm that's a question for my parents. Why were you born in
Our villaOur villaOur villa

Our Living room. To the right of this was the parents room, and to the left was the children's room, and then my building was next to the children's room.
Egypt? Well my mummy happened to be living in the Country at the time, and it would have been very difficult to be born else where when she was there. My favourite is when they see the list of countries you have ever been to (and trust me when I say you need to write all the countries you have been too) and they see Saudi and South Korea! LOL that is priceless. I then get asked the question are your parents diplomats? How I would like to say yes, but no. Anyway that is totally off topic. So where was I, ah yes. We got our visas and headed to the immigration line only to be turned away as we hadn't filled in our landing forms. Ugh 😞 so back we went to fill the forms in. I got mine finished in blue ink, only to read that I needed to fill it out in black or, wait for it, Green? What? I'm sorry who fills out forms in Green? Never mind. They still let me in to the country.

Now we had 1hr to pick up our suitcases and get to the domestic terminal to check in for our next flight. Yes another flight to the centre of the country. Well we made it by the skin of our teeth. We cheated and got a taxi the short distance to the depatures, mainly as we have about 15 bags between us and the heat was around 30c! HA to all you people freezing in snow, I'm melting in the heat. Again we had a flight with Vietnam Airlines, but this plane was amazing. Much better than the Thai one we had been on. Again it was only an hour flight, so it passed very quickly. This time we really did land in a shed. There were only 2 planes at this airport. Ours and one other. Very busy place.

Our guide and driver met us at the airport to take us to our beach resort. We had about a 25 min drive through Da nag to Hoi an. Wow, what a difference. It is totally a different place here. Hardly any cars, mainly motor bikes and bikes. I swear I have no idea what side of the road they drive on, they just seemed to drive in the centre with out any care for anyone else. Seeing as we had a mini van - we won, so people tended to move.

Our resort was amazing. It was made up of lots of private villas, and ours was right on the beach with a beautiful view out onto the South China Sea. It truely was amazing. Our villa was made up of 4 seperate buildings. 3 bedrooms (I got my own), a living room oh and a pool. We even got our own personal butler for our stay. Amazing! Turely amazing.

To be continued ...

Advertisement



29th January 2010

As I sit here Freezing ;-)
What a beautiful view you had from your room Anita! You cannot imagine the huge smile I have on my face reading your entries. I am just so darn happy for you! LYMI Jody wovenwonder
29th January 2010

Wow!
Wow! I had no idea Vietnam was SO beautiful! The view looks like a postcard.
29th January 2010

Jetset lifestyle
A personal butler??!! Well you deserve it after working 24-7 to keep the kids entertained!
30th January 2010

trust me it is not all beautiful, a large proportion of it is dirty and smelly and ugh. Every time HB touches something her Mum or I get the hand sanitiser out.
30th January 2010

I would love one thank you :) Meet you Laos.
30th January 2010

Oh I can't wait to find out....
... if you found any shells on the beach or not!
1st February 2010

I did! I even took a photo of them for you. It wasn't a great selection, but it was fun looking for them.

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0657s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb