Hoi An


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
April 16th 2008
Published: April 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We spent a very relaxing 4 days in Hoi An. We treated ourselves to a hotel with a swimming pool and a balcony (we are getting classy).

Hoi An is also known as 'Taylor City' quite simply because there are over 500 taylors in the town, and of course I couldn't leave without getting at least one item of clothing made for myself.

The town itself was quite small, and very relaxing from the hustle and bustle of Hanoi and we didn't get lost. We didn't really do much in Hoi An apart from going to countless fittings at numerous taylors and the nightlife was rather subdued. We did go on a trip to a place called My Son to have a look at some old Charm Temples which dated back to the 9th Century, much of it was in ruins mainly due to the american war but it was quite interesting as the Charm people were Hindu's.

I went to my first Asian beach here, which was lovely!!! Palm trees and lots of sand. It was a short bicycle ride to the beach which was interesting riding on the right handside of the road with tons of motorbikes weaving around me, but I survived which is the main thing. Whilst I was at the beach an old lady came over to me to try and sell me some toot, and because I wouldn't but anything she told me I would be very unlucky for the rest of the day, but I just sat there and looked around and thought if this is an unlucky day I'll quite happily cut my losses!!

Dad and I found an AMAZING resturant, well it was more of a run-downish cafe, but the food was outstanding!! and it was really cheap, in fact it was so nice it was the best food we've had so far, and we ate there for the rest of our time in Hoi An.

Our next stop is Ho Chi Minh City, initially we were going to get the train but when we found out it was a 20hr journey we decided to get a quote on flying, and I am so glad we did as it turned out to be only a pound more!

I'll add photos later as this computer doesn't have a USB port



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0381s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb