New locations


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
March 24th 2008
Published: March 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After two luxurious days floating around the pool in stinking hot weather, it was time to move on. (I tried in the early hours of the morning to walk to the Village about 2.5k from the resort), it was so hot even walking along the beach, that I almost fried. I saw some fishermen who work in thatched circular boats coming in after a mornings fishing. The closer I got to the village, the dirtier the beach became, in the finish it was completely clogged with refuse, dead animals and the ubiqitous plastic bags. The village was small, but clean and friendly, although I was too hot to enjoy it, knowing I had to walk back. I completed the walk, had breakfast and fell in the pool, feeling like I never wanted to get out. On the last day, I finally found the entrance to the gym and spent the hour there covered in virtuous sweat. We had breakfast and left with two hours to find the airport.

Our diver did a little side trip, picking up his daughter and dropping her off at home. The airport was tiny and so was the plane, but an enjoyable tripto Danang. We
hoi an taylor shophoi an taylor shophoi an taylor shop

all the shops are lit with lanterns at night, looks fabulous
shared a taxi with a German couple to Hoi An and on our arrival, the taxi driver got lost and was not a happy chappy. Today marks a celebration of the anniversary of 30 years liberation and there are many festivities including sport and tug-ofwar going on next door to the hotel.

After walking around the old part of town, we wandered int the ever present tailor, and even I succumbed, which for those who know me, it is a miracle that they got me in the door, two skirts and four tops later (all I am told will be completed in 24hours) spending approx. $100 we went to tea is a beautiful cafe and had 5courses and a beer for about $3.50. The town here is beautiful, very old,they shut up the shops by putting wooden planks horizontally into grooves until the window is full, then flap the last bit down. it seems very secure. the whole town is chinese type lantern lit, and is very pretty.

The hotel we stayed at in Hoi An had some Swedish travellers who were helping out at an orphanage, more of this in the next blog, but have added a
Moon over the Khanh Hoa BayMoon over the Khanh Hoa BayMoon over the Khanh Hoa Bay

what a great place
few photo's.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

orphan babyorphan baby
orphan baby

this is one of the lucky ones, she is 15 days old and will be adopted to america
excuse my bottomexcuse my bottom
excuse my bottom

playing word association with kids at orphanage
oodles of noodlesoodles of noodles
oodles of noodles

all the noodles drying in the sun
swedish group of young peopleswedish group of young people
swedish group of young people

this delightful group are volunteering to paint the orphanage in Hoi An


Tot: 0.033s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0154s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb