Hoi An shopping spree!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
March 15th 2008
Published: March 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Time to update you all on my travels so far! So, we are in a little town called Hoi An at the moment, its very old and seems to be really well kept. This place is renowned for its tailoring and cobblers, there are over 200 tailor shops here. So I couldn't come here and not buy anything! I have had a dress, 2 tops, denim shorts and leather sandals all made! I am really pleased with it all. Its so much fun because you can choose any design you want, and the material. Then you go back for a fitting, and they make changes, and it is ready by the next day. Amazing!

We have been in Hoi An for two nights, we came here from Hue, where we only stayed one night. Hue was a nice city, but there wasn't much to do there. Daniela and I weren't too interested in looking at the old citadel. It is quite expensive and we decided that clothes shopping was our priority!

Tonight, we are leaving Hoi An and going to Nha Trang, further down the coast. We are getting another sleeper bus tonight, I think the journey tonight is 10 hours (only a small journey compared to our 14 hour one!). It's quite comfortable, we get a little bed, although they are definitely not made for Western people! And I seem to have coped with motion sickness, I am getting better in my old age. Since being here I have started drinking beer as it is so cheap, about 30p! Everything is so cheap here, don't know how I will cope when we get to Oz and NZ.

We are having a good time and cannot wait to get to the beaches of Nha Trang. I'll let you know how it goes!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb