Vietnam? Nevermore!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Khanh Hoa » Nha Trang
January 26th 2012
Published: January 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I searched a lot of webpages and asked other travelers (when I got the chance) about their experience, before posting this blog. Usually, I just write my own opinion, not based on other people's experiences - only on my own. But since I don't like to write only negatives about any place I visited, this time I did my little search round around google.

First what I found was article that almost exactly matches my own experience here in Vietnam and I couldn't express it better. Here you go:

Nomadic Matt's Travel site: Why I'll Never Return to Vietnam

I experienced almost all that was mentioned in the article linked above - overcharging by locals, simply because being a foreigner, being treated poorly (one bright exception here was the owner from our hotel who was really helpful and nice*), being ripped off, cheated or lied to. I experienced rude people when I needed help or just asked for the way on the street. And yes, I never felt welcome from the first day I crossed the border (and was overcharged for the visas) till now.

There are of course a lot of blogs, articles and travelers where you can read a lot of positives about Vietnam. And I'm sure that all might be true. But that's not the experience I had.

Anyway, I don't feel like writing more about this subject - if you want to visit Vietnam for the first time, you should see it by yourself and not judge by what others say. (But you can prepare yourself.) On the other hand, your experience can be completely different - and I really wish you it will be. If you visited already, please feel free to comment, or send a message. I'm really interested in other traveler's opinions.


* but I suspect him of being more fond of us than usual, as he lived with his wife 18 years in the same country as we do. Therefore he spoke fluently our language, which led to some nice remembering-stories he told us.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb