Good Morning Vietnam


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Khanh Hoa » Nha Trang
February 4th 2006
Published: February 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Okay- okay, I know but I just couldn’t resist using this headline.

But anyway, here I am.
I arrived sound and save on the 29th of January in Saigon (also known as Ho Chi Minh City) after a fairly good flight from Munich and booked myself into a Hotel near the airport to get a pretty good night sleep.

Next morning I boarded the plane to Nha Trang and after a go around on short final we landed- in one piece- thanks Vietnam Airlines!!!

So I made my way to the dive shop and introduced myself and made my way to the Hotel room I would be living in for the next couple of weeks.
As I remembered my first room in Pattaya/ Thailand, I wasn’t really expecting a lot

-and to no one’s surprise I was right!

But what do I complain about, I got electricity, running water and the walls are thin enough to make me feel like I am sleeping right in a night club.

So my first day of diving (31st of January) started sometime 6 o’ clock in the morning- not to bad. We went to the harbour, onto the boat, to the dive site and had a dive-

Fuck me it was so cold you wouldn’t believe it. 23C°!!

Call me a whimp??

Try this at home with no wetsuit and head under water and tell me after 20 minutes you are still enjoying it.
See!!! I told you!!

The visibility wasn’t the best as well, so I didn’t see a lot.
Same-same counts for the second dive. Coming back to the shop I had to go straight to the pool and take care of 2 open water students.
Rob and Sonia where easy and fun to work with but then again having to be in the cold water didn’t make me feel like screaming hurray.
Coming back from the pool I had to sit in the shop and do the shift from 7pm to 10pm- talking to customers. Thank god it wasn’t to busy as I was a little knackered and not really in the mood…

Next day I had shop shift again from 6am to 12pm, helping Sonia and Rob with their studies and after that going into the pool for a couple of hours.

Not to bad but nevertheless I decided to make a move and so I told Jeremy (the shop owner) that I no longer wanted to work and fair enough he had no big problem with it.

Now I am an official tourist who is going to make a small tour thru Vietnam.
On my first day off I didn’t do much- I picked up my equipment after a real good breakfast (Yes, another dragon fruit shake please- thank you!!).
I went for dinner with a couple of the other instructors. Indian food in VN- it was quite nice to be honest.

The second day I continued wandering around the city of Nha Trang- visiting my first pagoda and my first bhudda. Very nice and interesting, walked back along the beautiful beach in perfect sun shine…

I met with Kai- a German Divemaster and we went for a couple of beers. We were joined by more of the dive crew and the evening got pretty late. Getting up early this morning didn’t really work so I had a late breakfast and an easy day writing a few postcards whilst drinking a coffee (god- life can be so good sometimesJ ).

Tomorrow I will book a bus ride up to Hoi An- supposed to be very very nice.
Because Boris, one of my colleagues from Lufthansa, will join me not before the 12th of February.

Will keep you updated!



Its time to move on- have a good one!


Advertisement



6th February 2006

Na cool
Alta- hört sich gut an! Wo hast Du das Erzählen gelernt. Schreib doch einfach alles auf, was Du gesehn und erlebt hast. Du machst ja Thomas Konkurenz. Is ne coole Sache, was Du da betreibst!!! Bei uns is alles fein. Is früh um sex und ich komm grade häme. Hab noch n Bier und geh dann schlafen fürn paar Stunden. Heute abend gehts wieder nach Island für zwei Tage. Das fehlt Dir wohl noch in Deiner Raupensammlung.....! In der Firma gehts voll auf diese gigantischen Jumbos zu. Für sone Operation brauchst Du in der Vorbereitung mindestens ein Jahr. Vielleicht ham se für mich auch n Platz. Die Dinger fahrn, ich glaub, 14h mit max payload rum und davon gibs nich viele (747-400ERF). Und wenn nich - auf ner 37 is auch geil....!!! Hab heute n echt geiles Bild geschossen- allerdings auf n Kamera die mir nich gehört. Muß ma sehn, wie ich ran bekomme. Hat gute Chancen das Bild des Jahren zu werden. Zwei schwarze Kondensstreifen (Einer is mein Eigner) und der is noch von einer Halo getoppt. Sieht einfach geil aus. Hab ich so noch nie gesehen. Weder rein optisch und schon lange nich auf einem Bild...! So Großer- halt sieOhren <
7th February 2006

Well Alex it looks like you made the right choice bum around for a while then get flying

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb