Nha Trang


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Khanh Hoa » Nha Trang
December 7th 2005
Published: December 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post

PropagandaPropagandaPropaganda

At one of the stops along the way to Nha Trang, I find this painted on a wall.
Caught the overnight train from Hoi An and find that the two Danish guys (Milo and Joey) are along for the ride. Once again, I am unable to sleep on the bus...oh well...

We arrive into Nha Trang and the rain is coming down hard. It ends up that the rain would continue for the 3 days I am in the city.

I signed up to go scuba diving with Rainbow Divers (as I bump into Graham, a dive master I met on Cat Ba Island). Spent rest of the day wandering around a bit in the rain..even went to the beach and stood in front of the rough surf with my green poncho on....felt like Bodi from the concluding scene in the movie Point Break (that's for you Dave Zarin).

Woke up early next day for the dive but the weather was so bad the harbour master would not let ships out. With such bad weather, there was not much to do in town....luckily I found an internet place that had the software for my MP3 player so I spent a few hours downloading more songs onto my player.

That night I drank at the Sailing
Waiting GameWaiting GameWaiting Game

Bus riders wait in the rain for the driver to finish his free dinner at one of the stops.
Club with a Canadian I knew from Hoi An along with Milo, Joey and four Bulgarian ballet dancers. I drank a bit too much and missed my bus the next morning for Mu Nei. So, as the rain poured down even harder, I downloaded some more music (illegally of course on Limewire...sorry David Lawrence....) and went to sleep early to ensure I made the bus for Mu Nei at 7:30 am.

By the looks for it, Nha Trang would be a great town if the weather was good. But the town is mainly a beach/diving site so the rain cancels all activities.

It's off to Mu Nei...hoping for better weather.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Bus SignageBus Signage
Bus Signage

I guess enough passengers complained that the bus goes to slowly that they posted this sign above the driver.
Working HardWorking Hard
Working Hard

Not much calling for cyclo drivers when the rain pours down.
Nha Trang BeachNha Trang Beach
Nha Trang Beach

I brave the pelting rain and harsh winds to walk the beach.
Nha Trang BeachNha Trang Beach
Nha Trang Beach

You can see the pounding surf through the stems of the thatch umbrellas.
Motorscooters ArriveMotorscooters Arrive
Motorscooters Arrive

Scooters are the way of life here in South East Asia. Here I find a new truck load of ém arriving. What can I say, as the rain came down there were not many pictures to take.
Group at Sailing ClubGroup at Sailing Club
Group at Sailing Club

I join Milo and Joey with two unidenfied girls for a "we are having a good time" shot.
Bulgarian DancersBulgarian Dancers
Bulgarian Dancers

These were two of the four ballet dancers from Bulgaria who were in town to perform. Needless to say they were a big hit on the dance floor.


Tot: 0.331s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 34; qc: 163; dbt: 0.149s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb