Hoi An


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
December 5th 2005
Published: December 16th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Roadside ViewRoadside ViewRoadside View

On my scooter ride to the beach, I came across this view of the small river that runs into Hoi An.
I purchased an OPEN BUS ticket that allows me to jump on a bus and get off at a few cities. So I headed to Hoi An. I met a Geman guy on the bus (Gertz) and and Irish girl (Anna) which helped pass the time....as our bus got a flat tire.

Got a hotel easily as the manager from Huey hotel recommended a place...so Gertz and Anna joined me in taking a nice room for $5 per night (I forgot the name...opps).

A few drinks with Gertz at a place called Re-Treat and Full Moon and then hit the hay.

Next day I rented a scooter and headed for the beach. It was cloudy and rained lightly but I went in the water anyway. I then toured the area outside of Hoi An and found a little market where I joined some girls eating a local dish called Zaw (pork boiled in banana leaves). I love scooting around these foreign countries as I get the chance to explore small towns and see the smiling faces of the children. I also get to taste (and smell) the local flavor.

For example.....I continued my scooting around when some
Beach WorkBeach WorkBeach Work

One of the many women who approach beachgoers and try to sell them everything from massages to pedicures.
local guys waived me down to join them in watching the Vietnamese national soccer team play Malaysia in the 2005 ASEAN Games. We had some beers and some local food (this time it was beef steamed in banana leaves). Luckily the Vietnamese won I and got to witness first had a group of 50 Vietnamese men go crazy.

Next day Gertz and I drove out to My Son (see photos for description) and enjoyed a hike. The ride back we rode in the rain. Ugh. We then had lunch back in Hoi An at a place recommended by Lonely Planet for good fried wonton and the local delicacy called Cau Lau. Yummy.

After a nap in my room, I ventured out for dinner where I chatted with one Aussie girl (Danny) who came from a village in northern Australia that had only six people in it. She was very shy. After she left, another Aussie (Claire) walks by the restaurant, sees me sitting alone, and comes up and asks to join me. She turned out to be very "chatty". Talk about a pendulum swing!

Next day I arranged for a late check out (as the overnight bus
Japanese BridgeJapanese BridgeJapanese Bridge

The famous covered bridge in Hoi An.
to Nha Trang was at 6pm) and walked around the old market area. Grabed lunch again with Gertz and then caught the beginning of the Vietnamese soccer match vs. Thailand before jumping on the bus to Nha Trang).

One note....Hoi An is famous for the tailor shops which make excellent clothes at cheap prices. Everyone was getting suits, dresses and other items made...but I need nothing so I only got a shirt and shorts mended.




Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

LunchLunch
Lunch

I joined some young Vietnamese at a local outdoor market for some Zaw (pork cooked in banana leaves and fried crisps). That is my plate in the foreground.
LunchLunch
Lunch

This was my lunch before I ate it.
Cooking in the MarketCooking in the Market
Cooking in the Market

This is the lady cooking my lunch.
Field workerField worker
Field worker

A worker pulls his water buffalo as some birds enjoy the muddy fields.
Needle PointNeedle Point
Needle Point

Women work in one of the famous Hoi An factories making embroidery.
TigersTigers
Tigers

A group of girls working for Tiger Beer (owned by Heineken) stop by the bar I am at with a large group of Vietnamese men watching the 2005 Asian Games football (soccer) match between Vietnam and Malyasia.
CelebrationCelebration
Celebration

The crowd in the restaurant explodes into jubilation when Vietnam takes the lead 2-1 with a second-half goal.
Game watching.Game watching.
Game watching.

I was drawn into the restaurant by the guy in the back as we were all on motor scooters. He said "come watch game with us", so I did. Thanks for a great time! Notice how my focus is on the game while they pose for the shot.
Lots of LaughterLots of Laughter
Lots of Laughter

I have these older Vietnamese people in stitches as we proceed by van into My Son area.
My SonMy Son
My Son

The weather is gloomy during my trip to My Son. Located in Southern Vietnam, My Son was a center for spirituality and worship during the reign of the Champa Kingdom. The My Son Sanctuary, which exemplifies the height of Cham architectural achievement, is a large complex of religious monuments originally comprised of more than 70 structures; the vestiges of 25 of these structures remain today. The builders of My Son were the nobility of the Champa Kingdom who derived their cultural and spiritual influences almost exclusively from India.
Gertz and MeGertz and Me
Gertz and Me

After hiking through the woods for about an hour in traditional Vietnamese humidity, we pose in front of one of the My Son structures. Notice Gertz's hat!
Still Scootin'Still Scootin'
Still Scootin'

Gertz and I rented scooters for the day to visit My Son (instead of taking the tour like the rest of the travelers). Here I am in front of the harbor in Hoi An after we returned to Hoi An for some late lunch.
Traditional ThreadsTraditional Threads
Traditional Threads

While walking the narrow streets at night, I snap this photo of two women wearing the traditional Vietnamese dresses.
Shock the MonkeyShock the Monkey
Shock the Monkey

The morning paper had this photo from Thailand where a monkey festival was taking place.
At the local marketAt the local market
At the local market

People pile onto a boat to take them across the river.
At the local marketAt the local market
At the local market

Women bargain over fresh fish just brought in via boats.
French ArcheticureFrench Archeticure
French Archeticure

Left over from the French occupation, a building in the old quarter features the French flavor.
Local ShotLocal Shot
Local Shot

A lady walks past a temple in the older part of town.
Me and Guesthouse managerMe and Guesthouse manager
Me and Guesthouse manager

I pose with the manager of the Phuong Duong guest house right before I board the overnight bus to Nha Trang. We were watching the final game of the 2005 Asian Games football as Vietnam was taking on Thailand. Vietnam lost 3-0.


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0337s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb