21 Jan


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
January 21st 2014
Published: January 21st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Another in Hanoi. I'll pick up where I left off last time, albeit missing a day. Basically yesterday was spent grimacing in pain and getting advice from my dad as to what the hell to do.

Morning: Got up fairly early by my holiday standards, about 8:30am. Was taken by my friend to the doctor. It was a bit of an anti-climax in the end as I got no antibiotics, and paid a lot of money for Omeprazole which I'm pretty sure is the same stuff I bought yesterday for just $2. He said to come back if the pain is still around in 1-2 days. Hung out with my friend some more at a nice cafe nearby, still having stomach pain, but the ginger tea seemed to alleviate it thankfully.

Midday: I went for a walk around West Lake and got refused entry onto the swan boats, because I was solo. Two people must go on, I was told. This is silly as I've done it before solo and not only that, it's hardly dangerous to be out on a swanboat on a completely still lake. Anyway I can't argue as they don't speak English, so I just leave and get a small lunch nearby. After this I'll be honest, I went to the hotel and slept. I don't know it's because of the stomach thing, but I've been achingly tired recently and I just crashed out like a baby.

Evening/night: It was just about evening when I got up. I went for a walk up to the nearby Gecko only to find that there was no nearby Gecko. I got some KFC instead. Kind of over eating out alone but I guess it's unavoidable at least some of the time when staying in a hotel without a kitchen, in a place where you don't know too many people. Came home and actually did a genuine meditation session for only the second time this trip. I need to work out what my next move is going to be, as I'm a free agent after February 8, so I'm hitting up various people and of course Facebook for ideas on how to spend the next month or more. While I've enjoyed being in Hanoi, I must confess to feeling a bit isolated. And that's with a super helpful friend who I see probably every second day. How am I going to fare in a place where I know nobody? I'm not sure I'm cut out for it, so that's something to give strong consideration to when planning. I guess at this stage I'm tossing up between the following, both awesome places to go but just sussing out whether now's the right time:

Thailand beaches
Pros: 1) I've loved being by the water this trip: Coron, Boracay and even just walking around West Lake in Hanoi, so would love to have more of that. 2) Can live very cheap.
Considerations: I will be completely solo, like I was in Boracay, and I did feel solitary on my third day there. This could be a dealbreaker.

Europe (Paris)
Pro: 1) It's Europe and I love it, I will have to go at some point on this trip, 2) will have more contacts than Asia.
Considerations: 1) Far more pricey than Asia, which is fine but it means I won't last as long, 2) Contacts are not in Iceland, where if I'm honest with myself is where I truly want to go. 3) It will still be February and therefore freezing. Would prefer holding off from going until at least March if possible.

I wonder if I can get some sort of combination. Somewhere with nice water, and where I know at least one person. And don't say Sydney!! My sister suggested Morocco and the Sahara Desert and I'm giving this serious consideration. I think the desert and night sky kind of more than makes up for the lack of water. If I can find a tour, will negate the whole solitary thing entirely. Plus, it just looks awesome.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb