Off to Hanoi, Vietnam!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
July 17th 2013
Published: August 4th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I had booked my sleeping bus to Hanoi for today, so at 1pm I got picked up by mini bus to go to Vientiane (the capital of Laos). On route I met Alice, Ryan and Steffan. It was my first sleeper bus I had taken and it was lucky as all of us were at the back in a row of four so it made it more fun.

The 24 hour journey was actually ok and I managed to get some sleep. The only issues were that when the ignition was turned off...the air con would turn off, the wait to go through customs was a pretty long wait and then my body decided it wanted to give me that monthly woman's thing that comes at unexpected times when you could really do without it. However, all part of the fun right?!

I was in Vietnam!

Arrived into Hanoi at 17.00.

Ryan and Alice had a business card for a cheap hostel called Funky Monkey which they were recommended. So I joined them. However, Steffan decided to check out other places and left us.

This hostel had some great quirks...

Breakfast

Happy hour 19.30 - 20.30 where free beer was given

Food with the family for 30,000 dong (approx £1)

It was a big layout on the floor of different dishes

Only $3 a night.

I liked it here.

We settled ourselves into our 6 bed dorm then joined other campers downstairs in time for happy hour. After not having a lot to eat on the bus journey and consuming lots of beer that kept getting topped up, we went out to find a little restaurant joined by Lisa (an Irish girl we had got chatting to on the bus).

Nom nom nom...fooood!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0589s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb