New Beginning


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
August 8th 2012
Published: August 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

the good time just keep on rollinthe good time just keep on rollinthe good time just keep on rollin

This is in the Lake across the street from my house. In dollars is very cheap, $1.50 but in Vietnamese standards is kinda a lot! lol
August 8, 2012



Life changes so fast. A month ago I was at a beach bar with my closest friends, getting ready to depart on an Asian adventure. And two weeks before that I was lazily floating down the Colorado River, sleeping under the stars and soaking up the beauty of the Grand Canyon. Now I am sitting on my couch, in my new house, in Hanoi, Vietnam, listening to the sounds of everyday life here.



For those of you who don’t know, I decided to quit my job in Hai Phong. I really enjoyed Hai Phong and miss the more laid back, chill life style but I love the diversity of people and things to do in Hanoi. It’s a lively city. The company in Hai Phong was so unorganized, and shady. They didn’t follow the contract but liked to hold it over their employees. It was not a company I wanted to be associated with. But now, I am a little uneasy because I am currently jobless. It’s getting complicated too because there are so many job opportunities here and I have heard back from every single company I have applied to, but
ElephantElephantElephant

There is also a free zoo at this Lake... but the animals look quite sad and have terrible enclosures.
I can’t figure out what kind of job I want. It’s quite overwhelming. I plan on being here for about a year, but my purpose to come to Vietnam was so I could travel Asia. Ideally I would love a flexible, easy going job, but that still pays well, and that is not kindergarten! Anyways, it’s just a bunch a figuring out what will fit me the best. Tomorrow I have 5 interviews and Friday I have one. I hope I can sort it out.



I hope I made the right decision to move to Hanoi. I miss my friends from Hai Phong. But I think soon a lot of them are coming to Hanoi in about a month or so, which will be awesome. I think I just need to get settled here. I need to get a motor bike and I need to get the rest of my things from Hai Phong and I will start to feel like this is my home. I’m just kind of lost in translation right now. I need to establish a routine. I want to get a hammock for the roof top terrace. I NEED A JOB!

me and tomme and tomme and tom

funny face


Looking toward the future, it is hazy and I’m definitely out of my comfort zone, but that was the whole point in coming to Asia; somewhere completely different from where I’ve ever been. Sunday I fly with my 2 girls roomies to Danang. It’s a beach in the center of Viet Nam. Also nearby is Hoi An, which is supposed to be stunning and have lots of things to see. I am very much looking forward to this beach get away and to experience another part of this crazy country. Of course I will take TONS of photos to show everyone. I think this will be a good way to start the school year and a nice get away from the hustle and bustle of city life in Hanoi. We catch a flight Sunday and return Wednesday. Plenty of time to get a tan =]



On a different note, there are so many more things that I have learned and noticed about Vietnamese people and culture. Also if you need a job, COME HERE!! I quite the other job and just by telling people that I am now looking for a job, I have had people
Swan boatsSwan boatsSwan boats

This is Irene chillin on a Swan boat in the same Lake across the street. Super cool all this is so close. It cost $1 per 30 minutes
contacting me… crazy right?! Also note that it is rude to point the sole of your foot at anyone, and it is rude to whistle; but hey feel free to throw peanuts or whatever you can find, to get the attention of someone. Just don’t whistle! My first cross cultural encounter that actually had me really, really pissed off was when we went to a club and I guess someone took bikes off the street, put them in their house, locked the doors and when we come out to go home, they’re gone. Then it’s rude to knock on the door to get your bike. Then they tell you, that you have to come back tomorrow to pick it up, at 9PM!!!!!!!! WTF! So then we had a very large taxi bill, no bike the whole next day, then had to return to get the bikes, which have probably now all been fuked over. They probably replaced good parts with shitty ones and will probably have bike problems very soon. Like what if we had work the next day? And apparently this has happened before to my roomies… In what country is that acceptable?! Still thinking about it raises my
CathedralCathedralCathedral

This is a main land mark in the old quarter of Hanoi. So many great places to stop and have a bite to eat or drink. And lots of hostel and travel booking places.
blood pressure. If one of those bikes was actually mine (and not just my ride home) I would have camped out in front of that door and probably get into a fight with some crazy Vietnamese person. I just don’t understand this at all.



I miss everyone at home so much and wish I could bring you all in my pocket on my adventures. I hope to see some of you here for a visit! As for me I will continue to travel and establish my home base here in Hanoi. I hope to make some more friends and find the perfect job.



“We tend to forget that happiness doesn’t come as a result of getting something we don’t have, but rather of recognizing and appreciating what we do have.” ~ Frederick Keonig


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Working girlWorking girl
Working girl

in the old quarter some lady put this shit on me then said you want a picture and i was like sure.. then tried to sell me the pineapple for like 400x s the price! haha im no fool
lizzylizzy
lizzy

Our own zoo back in Hai Phong. We would catch all the geckos and play with them. This one is on a bottle cap boat in a bucket that catches water from the leak in the roof.
YUMMYYUMMY
YUMMY

delicious kabobs full of hot sauce, mayo, cabbage and some kind of meat, possibly some kind of pork on a grilled pizza shaped slice of bread.
WARNING graficWARNING grafic
WARNING grafic

this is what you find at cat and dog markets.
Do SonDo Son
Do Son

the closest beach to Hai Phong... very very dirty! brown water and prostitutes. We stopped to have a beer on the lil boardwalk and tried to find a beach that was semi clean. We were unsuccessful.
toiletstoilets
toilets

this is at a public school. Sometimes out at the bars all they have is 2 bricks to squat on so you don't pee on your feet.


9th August 2012

Help
Hi madam, Welcome haiphongcity I am a member in this forum, I sent a message for you in order to connect to Mr Billy Waters(The Nomadic Welshman). I don't know my message was sent or not. my email: uga1881(at)yahoo.com or uga1881(at)gmail.com Thanks madam
10th August 2012

hello
No i didnt get any message! Yea it would be great to meet more people in Hanoi. I lost my phone the other day so i have to get a new one, hopefully today and ill send you my number so we can meet up.

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0789s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb