Really the last blog entry


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
February 19th 2006
Published: February 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

No, really, I mean this is the final blog entry…


Hey, this is Jed,
Today is the last day. We just hung out all day today. Or at least I did. My brother and my sister went out with my parents to get some stuff for them but I already had all my stuff. Well I’m going to talk about all the really, really, really cool stuff. The first one is when we first got to Hanoi. We went to a very yummyful restaurant at about one O’clock in the morning so it was very beautiful. The next was when we went on the cyclos which are very fun. The next was when we went to Ha Long Bay. It was so cool we went on a boat trip to one of the islands were we explored some caves. After that we had the best lunch I had ever had in my life! I had crab, shrimp, and squid! It tasted great.
Well today we are going home (to Maine) so bye!!

It’s Josh this time,
Unfortunately this is our last day in Vietnam. We have been here for a week now and it has been a great trip. We are really sad to go but we must now take our 27 hour trip back to Maine. My favorite things about this trip have been the food. The restaurants here are just incredible. The cuisine in Vietnam is incredible consisting of an appropriate mixture of meat and veggies all of which are sautéed and cooked with many wonderful flavors. I don’t think I will be able to adjust well to the bland taste of most western food. Anyway, on this trip I have eaten more strange foods than ever before. These foods include cobra, wild boar, fried birds, rabbit, giant shrimp, antelope and several indigenous fish, crabs and squid. It’s all good.
Now I’ve got to go pack so bye.

Hey, it’s Jessie’s turn now,
Today’s our last day. In the morning I did just a little more shopping and got myself a jacket. Then I came back to the hotel and got Jed and Josh then we went out for lunch. Then we came back to the hotel and have been packing.
Bye,
Jessie

Hi friends—

We are in our last few hours now: Colleen is out getting a last few items, and the bags are almost all packed. We decided to buy a painting which had been hanging in the gallery that is part of the Heart Hotel, by a young artist from Hanoi whom we have met. The painting, quite large, will hang in the upstairs hall in our home. It is a rural painting of a row of brilliantly green trees along a river, with a woman walking along the canal. The hotel has been great in this as in all other things: they have carefully rolled the painting and another given to us by Bates parents into a tube, and packed the frames into a large traveling box that we hope American Airlines will accept—for five round trip tickets to Hanoi, I sure hope so.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb