First day!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
July 1st 2009
Published: July 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Wow, I can't believe we skipped over Tuesday! There was a lot of travelling... On my way to Taiwan (13 hours), I sat next to some 13 year old girl who was traveling by herself to Cambodia!!! She was really nice. I also met a really happy guy who was was studying abroad in Salt Lake City. He was on his way back to Thailand. I was knocked out the entire time and missd lunch 😞 More importantly, I didn't get a receive those papers you're supposed to fill out and give to Customs.
It's hot as hell here. The airconditioned part of the airport doesn't even feel like it has airconditioning! That was funny. The ride to the hotel was really pretty, really green and smoggy. We git more than 10 people (and our luggages) in this modest van!! The houses are interesting: they are very high (4-5 stories) and really really narrow, and are typically only painted in the front.
I'm in the hotel right now. I'm sharing a room with two other volunteers from Southern California (we actually took the same flights). It's weird taht traveling can drain a person so much, when there is limited physical activity most of the time. Whatever, it just feels really nice to rest, write, and appreciate being in Vietnam. I'm really thankful for the AC in our room!!!!!! We're going to have dinner soon, I'm really excited!!!!!!!!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.034s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb