Hanoi Vietnam


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
May 11th 2009
Published: May 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I've spoken to 4 people about Vietnam, 2 said its been the best holidaying of all time and 2 think its the shithole of the world......so was fairly keen to get there and decide for myself. I like it. But its fecken sweaty man. I think if my mate Kieran was here (who I've travelled with a fair bit, and enjoys the odd power sweat) I'd have to carry him around in a bucket.

Decided to leave Hong Kong one hungover morning.....was not really much else to do there after a couple of days. Had nothing booked so thought I try and "wing it man". Turned out pretty good. Got to the train station half hour before a train back to Guangzhou on the mainland left (its about a 2 hour journey), which got me there in time for the overnight train to a little town (who's nam escapes me) a couple hours away from the Vietnam border. Had an hour and a half wait for the next train south to within 20km's of the border then jumped on a dodgey look'n tuk tuk. Had to walk the last half a Km. So from Hong Kong to Vietnam without a prob....except for no sleep....not a great hard sleeper on this train.

Spent 5 nights in Hanoi, done the usual stuff, museums, walking around the little streets getting hasselled by people selling things that I assumed were food. Went for a wander to Ho Chi Min's mausaleum........but closed that day......bastards. Can't seem to get into see any dead commi leaders. The Lenin tomb was closed and the line up fo Chairman Mao was a few hours long.....and I wasn't THAT keen.

Best bit about Hanoi is its where you book a trip out to Halong Bay.....unbelievable place. Something like 1600 tiny islands scatered around the bay. Went there for one night on a Junk Boat with about 20 other people.

Now, if you're running a kayaking trip for 3 hours and you have one kayak that has a bit of a leak and you DON'T want to have it sink to the bottom of the bay I have a strong tip.......don't give it to me.

All started well. Me and Sonia in a 2 man kayak (with about 10 other kayaks) rowed out to these nice caves for a bit of a looky. Took about an hour and a half to get out there....beautiful scenery everywhere. After checking out the caves we got back into a kayak (evidently not the one we had before). I had a feeling we were riding a bit low......then the waves picked up......ABANDON SHIP WOMAN. Little Sonia thought I was taking the piss and was laughing her arse off until she saw me leep.

She had to sit on top of another kayak.....I got onto to group leaders boat....now because there were 3 of us plus we were trying to tow the capsized one, this started taking on water too. SO, I made the executive decision to get back into the drink before I killed a second one. I grabed onto the back of a 3rd boat and got them to drag me (while I kicked). We were doing ok but as the tour leaders had stayed trying to get the sunk boat out, and not gone with the other 10 groups.....everyone got lost......then it went real dark real fast. I saw a litle fishing boat a little way off so I thought fuckit, I'm swimming for that.....had been swimming around for an hour or so by this stage. They took me back to where to group leaders were.....they couldn't move the sunk kayak and had called for the big Junk Boat to com pick us up.

Luckily the other 10 groups had stayed together, but as they didn't have a clue where to go they just went to the 1st Junk they saw (they all look identical). One of the girls remembered the name of out Junk and they were able to make it back eventually.

So now to add to 2 cameras and 1 phone, I'm also down my favourite pair of Birkenstock sandals and sunglasses.

Having a great time though.......love this place. Leave for Hoi An tonight on another overnight train.


Rock On,
Shane,
Birkenstock-less Space Adventurer.




Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Duck ItDuck It
Duck It

for 2 hours on this train I thought I could hear a quack but thought it was someones dodgey voice
Heading for the borderHeading for the border
Heading for the border

Was on one of these tuk tuks....no where near as good as Thailand's


13th May 2009

Vietnam
Was I one of the people who told you it was awesome?! I was right about Halong Bay now wasn't I! Sorry to hear about the kayak incident. That water is pretty dodgy in parts too. We went to those caves, I have a nice picture of a large phallic shaped rock formation, among lots of other lovely ones! I really loved the colourful houses and their (stolen) architecture in Hanoi but not sure if you saw them if you didn't come in from the airport, these must be all over once you get out of the city though. Hope you have a good time in Hoi Ann. I tried to think of some of the restaurants we went to but I'm blank. Cham ruins and Marble Mountain are worth a look/hike. Don't get clothes/shoes made unless you really really want to - it can be fricking stressful! Stay safe and have fun! Love Megan
21st May 2009

Phangnga Bay
Halong Bay, aint got nothing compared to Phangnga Bay in the los ( land of smiles, thailand, just dont steal any beer mate)
21st May 2009

beer mate
That should read '' beer mat''.

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb