Welcome to Vietnam...


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
April 27th 2009
Published: April 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

My Mum and Kate are now here with us in Hanoi, we are off to Sapa tonight. I think we gave them a pretty good welcome. On the way to the hotel from the airport, we saw a bad motorbike accident and 2 dead bodies on the road. Our hotel was bad. To me and Matt, it was ok. Hot shower, bed, their room even had a window. Things took a turn for the worse when we went out for tea last night though. Someone came into our room, had a bite out of my LAST crunchie, then hid it behind the bin. Who does that??!! My last crunchie!!! I'm not going to get another for at least 3 months : ( And what were they doing in our room in the first place?! Grrrr. And my Mum's bed collapsed in the night.
We had forgot what a massive culture shock this place is, so it was fun seeing my Mum and Kate experience it. Hanoi is particularly dirty, smelly and busy. Yesterday, we had a little look round, we went to see Ho Chi Minh's embalmed body. We had to queue for about an hour, he just looked like a wax-work. Last night, we went to the water puppetry theatre, it was brill, the music was amazing. My Mum didn't like it, she fell asleep.
Today, we ahve been to Tam Coc, it was gorgeous, lots of amazing scenery. We got a little boat trip to admire it and go through the caves. When we went for dinner we had to use chopsticks. We sat with an asian couple.
Mum: "Oh, you can use chopsticks. Have you used them before?"
Man: "Yes, we're from Taiwan"
Mum: "Oh, Taiwan. Is that near Thailand?"


Advertisement



27th April 2009

Sorry Sandra!
Sorry to hear that Sandra's bed broke. Maybe I shouldn't have sent her those chocolates for her birthday!!
28th April 2009

SEEN ANY SPIDERS LATELY..{matt}
Lovin your funny stories I lol at them ,say hello to your mum from me, tell them all to eat a few spiders, they wiggle and wriggle and tickle inside you!!! Keep havin fun, Love Bev.xxx
1st May 2009

Sandra
Please tell your mother I am tracking her through your blog. She is very brave! Enjoy! Love, Sara

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb