Jan 9, 2009 Hanoi


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
January 9th 2009
Published: January 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

jello??

I am now in Hanoi, after a disturbing bus ride!! Unfortunately it wasn’t just the typical reasons for the bus ride being unpleasant!! While we were pulled over at a bus stop I was out of the bus having a conversation with a guy from Israel when I heard a huge bang (loud enough to be a gun shot), when I looked up all I saw was a moto in 100 pieces and a guy laying about 20 feet away from me. He had been travelling at about 50-60km and hit a parked bus. Everyone started yelling and no one would really go near the guy except for some westerners. They did call an ambulance which showed up about 10 minutes later, the ambulance was a white pickup truck with a flashing light on the top, about 3 people picked up the guy and pushed him onto the back of the pickup. I am pretty sure he was dead. It was pretty surreal! I later heard that over 10000 people die every year from just moto bike accidents in Vietnam! Insane! Although the way they drive, I am surprised its not higher!!

I stayed in Hue for 2 nights, it wasn’t too exciting!! My friend Monica and I did a boat tour down Perfume river and took in some historic tombs. The next day we walked around the town (in the rain) and went to see the forbidden purple city.

I have been in Hanoi for 2 days now but haven’t seen much! I actually spent 36 hours in bed, I think I had a pinched nerve or muscle in my back! Whatever it was caused so much pain I didn’t move from my bed for a day and a half!! I also had a migraine. I think the travelling caught up with me and my body wanted to rest!

Feeling better now and went out to the market earlier today, I was looking for some warmer clothes !!! But soon realized I was the only western in the market, not sure why. But when I stopped to look at a sweater the seller said no no no, which shocked me because usually they hassle you every chance they get..I didn’t think “no” was in their vocabulary!! Usually its” yes cheap for you, you buy, yes you, please, good price for you”! I really didn’t even like the sweater but Im still not sure what I wasn’t allowed to buy it.. hahaha

I am now waiting to take the night train to Sapa, cost for a sleeper was $21, which is kinda crazy!! And I would have just taken a bus because it is only 300km away but everyone kept telling me there is no bus (then laughing at my suggestion). This train takes 8 hours and only travels at night, so they force you into the sleeper! They get you every chance they can!! I was planning on going to Halong Bay to see the islands but the weather is way too cold!!! I know Sapa will be colder but I heard its amazing and I need out of this city!!! I think I will stay in Sapa for 3-4 nights and they fly into Laos next week!


yeahyeah!!!




Advertisement



9th January 2009

i think that seller don't know English... Not big problem... you can choice some other stores.. weather in Vietnam is so bad.. take care

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb