A Travellers Kvetch


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
January 2nd 2009
Published: January 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I'll tell you all about Hanoi, our latest stop, later. But I've been mildly perturbed about the suckier side of travelling for a few days now, so I want to rant. I think most travellers make fleeting mention of these things, but they are the reasons why, despite how cool it is to travel through a foriegn country, you should remember that life on the road has it's share of frustration. Below is a list, in no particular order, of things that suck while travelling, mostly abstractable to any country, but specific to Vietnam right now.



There are more, and I'll add some fun pics later, but rest assured, as sexy as this trip looks, there are some sucky parts too. Nonetheless, Noa and I are having a blast, and I wouldn't trade computer terminals with any of you. Especially you readers in Madison, Wisconsin or Hamilton, Ontario. Brrrr.

Advertisement



2nd January 2009

Good Post
Great post! . A real reality check for those travelling in Indochina. I am currently in rainy central Viet Nam (Hue) Had a scary experience in Ha Noi (a couple of days ago) with a motorbike-taxi guy outside Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum. I negotiated the price for the guy to bring me back to my hotel and all was well until this guy took me elsewhere to near the museum or something saying that I asked him to bring me there. Naturally I protested and next thing the guy did was showed me the kitchen knife he kept in a box on his motorbike. He said "Yu no pay me 30 dora veli bad for yu in Ha Noi" while displaying a fit of childish tantrums. Alone, faced with a vietnamese gollum holding a knife i chose flight and ran across the highway to a taxi. I was enjoying vietnam and just forgot to be more vigilent. Your post really serve to remind us of the reality here especially when its so easy to forget when having such a great holiday here. Safe journey to all fellow travellers Ps. It happens to asian travellers as well ;)

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0253s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb