Ha Long to Hanoi


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
November 13th 2007
Published: February 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Tuesday 13th November

Ha Long Bay cont.

The disorganisation continues, I’m up and about in plenty of time, phone rings at 06.55, now 07.15 pick up not 08.00. Now, not so plenty of time. So guess what? The bus comes at 08.00 after all, so I’ve grabbed a breakfast box, but it’s not the same as a full buffet breakfast at a flash hotel.
Last pick up for the bus is two Irish guys who are still drunk (Hung over) and need to be woken up. They are asleep on the benches in front of me on the boat as I write.
This is day two for all the other passengers on the so they already know each other.
In a world heritage area I think with some very impressive views although same same as yesterday they finish their photography in the first fifteen minutes, whip out the guide books and the like and from then on it’s no talking.
Did you know that floating fishing villages in the middle of no where have satellite TV receivers
It is a huge bay and set of islands but one day is probably enough. If the guides English was better I’d be half way back to Hanoi by now if that’s possible from Cat Ba.
Get bored witless on the boat.
Trip home on the bus and I’m with the Irish guys again and the guys they got p!ssed with last night, again separated from the group.
Lunch was interesting, one fish, six prawns, some greens and a big bowl of rice with a tissue in the middle, discovered only after we had eaten down that far.
Point this out to the waitress and get “Em oy” (so sorry) and a new bowl of rice. Nobody is eating.
How much for a helicopter, I’m prepared to pay. Bring on four o’clock.
Robert one of the p!ssed Irish guys burnt his hand getting off the boat by grabbing an exhaust pipe. “It looked like a hand rail” was his excuse and the way the boats are crammed together I believe him.
Half way home he is a bit more awake so I patch him up.
Back in Hanoi, no room for me at Golden Sun and pass on the couch option.
They book me into Nam Phuong hotel around the corner.
For those familiar with the movie “Wake in Fright”, I am now in the Vietnamese version of his hotel.
As an aside did you know that KFC wipes are excellent for on the spot stain removal from your clothes.
The Vietnamese, once they get to know you love to touch you. More common than in the rest of Asia so far, is same sex couples holding hands or with their arms around each other. It’s not a sexual thing, just how they do it.
It seems to go like this,
First time you meet a local, you are a stranger.
Second time you get a Hello.
Third time, big Hello and a touch.
Fourth time, want to come for a beer after work.
God’s truth, happened to me.
So at my new digs the Nam Phuong hotel, the view is a bit different today, just two glass frosted louvers compared to a full balcony overlooking a private beach yesterday, how the mighty fall.
Home tomorrow, I know the area and next door has a good breakfast so can’t complain too much.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb