Vientiane to Hanoi


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
June 17th 2005
Published: June 30th 2005
Edit Blog Post

My last day in Vientianne. I booted around the massive market (Talat Sao) by bike and finally bought the obligarory beer Lao t-shirt (1.50$). I bought a bunch of other things which later I relaized were either lost or stolen.....(I had sat down at one of the market stalls for a coke and the woman owner was trying to pair me with her daughter....A large middle aged man found the whole thing hillarious, looked at me gestured at the girl laughed and stomped off....)

At Wattay airport, I gave the happy tuk - tuk driver all my KIP, bumped in to Tony again who got caught for overstaying one night (10$).

We were met in Hanoi by the pushiest taxi drivers I ever seen at an airport anywhere...(little did I know how naive I really was)
In Hanoi I clung with all my luggage on to the back of a motorbike and sped through the manic Hanoi streets to Light Star Hotel..Then came the real journey: 14 flights of wooden stairs in the heat with my luggage, the phone is not working so back down to ask a couple of questions, up and down again for the internet...Did I really give the impression that I am putting on weight on this trip?






Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb