Day 4


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hai Phong
July 15th 2012
Published: July 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Karaoke 54 secs
back in timeback in timeback in time

my "new" phone.
Today was a success!

Its sunday and our day off. Went out last night, woke up with no water... walked down the street. Went back to sleep. Woke up and went off with a roomie for some lunch. It was a super nice morning. Had some iced coco then a bomb noodle, fish sauce, mystery meat meal. Delishous and filling but not heavy. Came home and got my computer that i finally got back from the stupid IT guy. (he erased everything including my iTunes and microsoft office...) But now i can use the internet!! YAY so i spent the afteernoon relaxing ina hammock on the roof checking email and bills and FB. PLUS i got to skype my mom for about an hour!

Then i wanted to get my nails done so i wandered down some side streets. Most shopes were closed because everything closees in the afternoons and re-opens around 4pm. Found a nail place and had some fun trying to communicate. The thing is that a majority of the shops and stalling in the street are the fronts of their house. So its like part living room, part parking for thier motor bikes, and part buisness.
sea foodsea foodsea food

oysters and sea worm salad... barftastic!
Soooo as i was getting my names done, I was sitting on this families couch. The girl doing my nails is called Nhungn, and her grandma, grandpa and mom were hanging out too. They are a very nice and friendly family!! I hope i can become freinds with them. Nhungn is young, 20, and very pretty. I communicated with them through pointing out words in my dictionary. And Nhungn showed me pictures of her husband and baby. I showed her pictures of rascal and my mom. And on top of this it cost a total of $2.50 for a mani pedi! Success =]



After that, i went with 2 roomies to celebrate one of our vietnamese friend's birthday. We met up at this restaurant, whos specialty was sea food... OMG. ummmmm I am surprised i made it drinking all night after trying someof this shit. the table was full of raw oysters, sea worm salad, raw octopus and chicken bits... litteraly the whole chicken cut up, feet and head and all! I tried the sea worm and octopus and regualr chicken bits. It makes my stomache a little queezy just thinking about it!! But it was really
octopus..octopus..octopus..

raw and tentacle-y... lol and yes they included the head in this dish..
cool because we partied in true Vietnamese fashion last night. After dinner and drinks, we headed to a karaoke bar. dude, these people and their karaoke. I'm pretty sure every single vietnamese person can sign, like good... its nuts!! they had some good english songs too! i sang A Whole New World from Aladdin.

We left a little early because we all had class in the morning... but of course we stopped on the way home to get some food. Real food... lol. We got this thing called my xao (sound slike me sao) like ramen noodle stri fried with veggies. my favorite dish so far!! like it was beyond delicous!! Then on the way home from that i got to practice driving Tom's big motor bike. I'm so terrible but we went to a road where there was no one. Finally we are home walking up the stairs and there are some like silk, grannie pantied hangin to dry on hangers outside my room... I was like wtf. freakin Tom thought they were mine and i was like HELL NO. Then the new (but old) guy came up the stairs and grabbed them!!!!!!!!!! HAhahahahahahaha me and Tom ran
IreneIreneIrene

the aussie girl
in to my room and seriously started busting up laughing. this like old, weird man was drying his silky, filly, gannie panties infront of my room! was he like trying to pass them off as mine?? why didnt he hang them infront of his room?? so funny.

All in all, i had a freakin epic day! i also was observing a few interesting little facts about Vietnamese people.

1. They all write exactly the same in this amazing, perfect script! i seriously thought it was printed from the computer! even like 2nd graders write like this. its the most insane thing ever.

2. They serve guys first

3. Everyone has a good singing voice

4. Most the time when they ask my age they ask what year i was born, not how old are you. OR they ask how old are you then they calculate what year i was born... strange

5. They are seriously terrified of the sun. Its like a beautiful day outside and i taught outdoor activity today but there wasnt sufficent shade in the court yard so we did outdoor activities in a classroom... and they have the strangest clothes
the boysthe boysthe boys

Sting (the bday boy), Tom (the brit) and Sting's neighbor/tall guy. i dont actually know his name...
to wear while driving their motor bike and scooters. its like a jacket the has fabic flaps that go all the way past your finger tips and little rings in there to make it stay on your hands to protect them from the sun. And the hood zips all the way up to below the eyes and then they wear sunglasses.

6. All their skin products have whiting shit in them.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

chicken nuggetschicken nuggets
chicken nuggets

wait dont eat that.... its the freakin head!!
my xaomy xao
my xao

our stop for late night food on the way home. SOOOOOo bomb!
my classmy class
my class

this is one of the classes i teach at a primary school down the road.


Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb